Summary information on parliamentary government, elections and periods in office

Select State

Summary information on Parliamentary Government in the Australian Capital Territory

Parliament is the key institution in the system of representative government in the territory of the Australian Capital Territory. It is the link between democratic elections and the formal machinery of territory government, and the forum through which government is held accountable to the people of the Australian Capital Territory; see parliamentary system. Although the general role of parliament is clear, the structure and operation of parliament in the Australian Capital Territory has a number of distinctive features:

Parliamentary support for governments in the Australian Capital Territory Legislative Assembly

This website has information on the Australian Capital Territory Legislative Assembly and the pattern of support that governments have had in the Assembly since 1989. The information is summarized in the table and subject headings set out below:

Sources and references

The summary information on this page has been compiled from records in the Australian Politics and Elections Database at the University of Western Australia. The individual records for each general election and period in office in the Australian Capital Territory -- available through this website -- include sources and references.

For information on the government and politics of the Australian Capital Territory, see John Warhurst, 'Australian Capital Territory', in Jeremy Moon and Campbell Sharman (editors), Australian Politics and Government: The Commonwealth, the States and the Territories, pp 209-223 (Melbourne: Cambridge University Press, 2003, ISBN 0521532051).