Search for Australian Governments and Periods in Office of Premiers and Prime Ministers

Governments in the Australian parliamentary system are structured by the periods in office of premiers for state governments, prime ministers for the Commonwealth (national, federal) government, and first ministers for territory governments (in this database, territory first ministers are included as 'premiers').

Search by:
Commonwealth, state or territory

For a list of Commonwealth state and territory governments, choose the appropriate state

Search by parliament. The default is all parliaments.


OR ... Search by:
PM/Premier name or part name

Enter a word or words from the name

OR ... Search by:
List of premiers and prime ministers

For details of the period in office of a particular premier or prime minister, select the name from the list ...

OR ... Search by:
Time period

For a list of governments by time period, enter start and/or end date;

Enter start date of period
(dd/mm/yyyy) (on or after)

and/or end date of period (dd/mm/yyyy) (on or before)