ID 0007

Commonwealth Government of Australia beginning 2 June 1909 - period in office of Prime minister Deakin, Alfred ending on 29 April 1910

Period in office of prime minister (see Glossary entry for 'period in office' and related terms)

Prime minister
Deakin, Alfred
Date of beginning of period in office
2 June 1909
Date of end of period in office
29 April 1910 
Reason for end of preceding period in office
Defeat in parliament 
Reason for end of this government
Loss of general election
Number of days in office

Parliamentary support during period

Party affiliation of prime minister at start of period
Fusion (Liberal Party)
If coalition government
Coalition partner 1
Coalition partner 2
Coalition partner 3
Coalition partner 4
Party support in parliament at beginning of period
If change in parliamentary support during period
If further change during period

Number of ministers at beginning of period (this may vary during the period)

Total number of ministers
Number from party of prime minister
Number from coalition party 1
Number from coalition party 2
Number from upper house
Number who are women

House of Representatives elections contested as prime minister or after which became prime minister (see Glossary entry for 'after election')

* to view table drag left or right.
Election Prime minister at election Prime minister's party Prime minister after election Prime minister's party
COM 13 April 1910Alfred DeakinLiberal PartyAndrew FisherAustralian Labor Party
COM 12 December 1906Alfred DeakinProtectionist PartyAlfred DeakinProtectionist Party
COM 16 December 1903Alfred DeakinProtectionist PartyAlfred DeakinProtectionist Party

Previous period in this series for COM | Next period in this series for COM


Deakin's ministry was called Fusion ministry. It included 3 Protectionists (including Deakin himself), 5 Free Traders and 2 Tarrif Reform members. For details of all Commonwealth prime ministers, see Michelle Grattan (editor) Australian Prime Ministers (Sydney: New Holland, 2000).


Hughes and Graham, (1968) A Handbook of Ausralian Government and Politics 1890-1964.