ID 0058

State Government of New South Wales beginning 3 April 1952 - period in office of Premier Cahill, John Joseph ending on 28 October 1959

Period in office of premier (see Glossary entry for 'period in office' and related terms)

Cahill, John Joseph
Date of beginning of period in office
3 April 1952
Date of end of period in office
28 October 1959 
Reason for end of preceding period in office
Change of party leader 
Reason for end of this government
Death of premier
Number of days in office

Parliamentary support during period

Party affiliation of premier at start of period
Australian Labor Party
If coalition government
Coalition partner 1
Coalition partner 2
Coalition partner 3
Coalition partner 4
Party support in parliament at beginning of period
If change in parliamentary support during period
14 February 1953
Result of general election
If further change during period

Number of ministers at beginning of period (this may vary during the period)

Total number of ministers
Number from party of premier
Number from coalition party 1
Number from coalition party 2
Number from upper house
Number who are women

Assembly elections contested as premier or after which became premier (see Glossary entry for 'after election')

* to view table drag left or right.
Election Premier at election Premier's party Premier after election Premier's party
NSW 21 March 1959John Joseph CahillAustralian Labor PartyJohn Joseph CahillAustralian Labor Party
NSW 3 March 1956John Joseph CahillAustralian Labor PartyJohn Joseph CahillAustralian Labor Party
NSW 14 February 1953John Joseph CahillAustralian Labor PartyJohn Joseph CahillAustralian Labor Party

Previous period in this series for NSW | Next period in this series for NSW


Change of party leader (McGirr): Beginning of Cahill's period in office; 'On 1 April 1952 McGirr tendered his resignation. Caucus elected Cahill leader on 2 April, and he was commissioned to form a ministry on the same day', Hughes and Graham, p. 80, (see 'Sources', below).

Change in parliamentary support: When Cahill became premier, his government was dependent on the support of the two Independent Labor members of the Legislative Assembly (see previous entry in this series for New South Wales). At the general election held on 14 February 1953, the Australian Labor Party won majority support in the Legislative Assembly; see David Clune, '1953', in Michael Hogan and David Clune (editors), The People's Choice: Electoral Politics in 20th Century New South Wales, vol. 2 (1930-1965), pp. 297-322, at p. 318, (Sydney: Parliament of New South Wales and University of Sydney, 2001, ISBN 0909907404).

Death of premier (Cahill): 'On 22 October 1959 Cahill died. Heffron was immediately commissioned as Premier subject to being confirmed as leader of the Labor Party. On 28 October caucus elected him leader unopposed and filled the vacancy in the ministry', Hughes and Graham, p. 80, (see 'Sources', below).

References: For an analysis of the role of Premier in New South Wales, see David Clune and Ken Turner, 'Introduction: The Changing Role of the Premier in the 20th Century', pp. 1-14, in Clune and Turner vol. 2 (see, 'Sources', below).

For a survey of Cahill's political career, see David Clune, 'John Joseph Cahill', in Clune and Turner, vol. 2, pp. 295-312 (see 'Sources', below), and David Clune, 'Cahill, John Joseph (1891-1959)', in John Ritchie (general editor), Australian Dictionary of Biography, vol. 13, pp. 331-333, (Melbourne: Melbourne University Press, 1993, ISBN 0522845126).


David Clune and Ken Turner (editors), The Premiers of New South Wales, vol. 2, (1901-2005), (Sydney: Federation Press, 2006, ISBN 186287551); Colin A Hughes and B D Graham, A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics 1890-1964, pp. 57-85, (Canberra: Australian National University Press, 1968, SBN 708102700); New South Wales, Parliament, The New South Wales Parliamentary Record: Legislative Council and Legislative Assembly, 1824-1999, vol. VI, pp. 246-308, (Sydney: Parliament of New South Wales, 1999). In consulting these sources, note the difference between ministries and periods in office.