ID 0048

State Government of New South Wales beginning 20 December 1921 - period in office of Premier Fuller, George Warburton ending on 20 December 1921

Period in office of premier (see Glossary entry for 'period in office' and related terms)

Fuller, George Warburton
Date of beginning of period in office
20 December 1921
Date of end of period in office
20 December 1921 
Reason for end of preceding period in office
Defeat in parliament 
Reason for end of this government
Defeat in parliament (see note)
Number of days in office

Parliamentary support during period

Party affiliation of premier at start of period
Nationalist Party
If coalition government
Coalition partner 1
Progressive Party
Coalition partner 2
Coalition partner 3
Coalition partner 4
Party support in parliament at beginning of period
Coalition Minority
If change in parliamentary support during period
If further change during period

Number of ministers at beginning of period (this may vary during the period)

Total number of ministers
Number from party of premier
Number from coalition party 1
Number from coalition party 2
Number from upper house
Number who are women

Assembly elections contested as premier or after which became premier (see Glossary entry for 'after election')

* to view table drag left or right.
Election Premier at election Premier's party Premier after election Premier's party
NSW 30 May 1925George Warburton FullerNationalist - Progressive CoalitionJohn Thomas LangAustralian Labor Party
NSW 25 March 1922James DooleyAustralian Labor PartyGeorge Warburton FullerNationalist - Progressive Coalition

Previous period in this series for NSW | Next period in this series for NSW


Defeat in parliament (Dooley): Beginning of Fuller's first (seven hour) period in office; 'On 6 December 1921 Fuller announced that he would move to censure the Government for its taxation policy. Upon receiving assurance that the Nationalist and Progressives would cooperate, the Speaker, Levy, resigned on 8 December during the censure motion and a Labor Speaker had to be elected on 13 December. The Labor Party was thus put into a minority and defeated on an adjournment motion 45-44. On 14 December Dooley sought a dissolution and, when it was refused, resigned; on his advice, Fuller was sent for. The Governor gave Fuller until 20 December to form a ministry. On that date Fuller ... announced his ministry', Hughes and Graham, p. 68, (see 'Sources', below). Fuller's ministry was to last a mere seven hours before Dooley was again commissioned to form a government; see the previous and following periods in office in this series for New South Wales.

Defeat in parliament and seven hour ministry (Fuller): On Fuller's Nationalist and Progressive Party coalition ministry being announced on 20 December 1921: 'The Labor Speaker then resigned, and when Fuller asked for nomination to the Speakership the Nationalist whip, Bagnall, declared that he would stand in protest against the coalition with the Progressives. The Labor Party nominated Levy who agreed to stand again. Fuller sought a dissolution but it was refused, and he resigned after seven hours in office. The Governor on Fuller's advice sent again for Dooley who re-formed his ministry with minor changes', Hughes and Graham, pp. 68-69, (see 'Sources', below); see also Michael Hogan, '1922', in Michael Hogan and David Clune (editors), The People's Choice: Electoral Politics in 20th Century New South Wales, vol. 1 (1901 to 1927), pp. 235-267, (Sydney: Parliament of New South Wales and University of Sydney, 2001, ISBN 0909907390).

References: For an analysis of the role of Premier in New South Wales, see David Clune and Ken Turner, 'Introduction: The Changing Role of the Premier in the 20th Century', pp. 1-14, in Clune and Turner vol. 2 (see, 'Sources', below).

For a survey of Fuller's political career, see David Clune, 'Sir George Warburton Fuller', in Clune and Turner, vol. 2, pp. 167-177 (see 'Sources', below), and John M Ward, 'Fuller, Sir George Warburton (1861-1940)', in Bede Nairn and Geoffrey Searle (general editors), Australian Dictionary of Biography, vol. 8, pp. pp. 595-597, (Melbourne: Melbourne University Press, 1981, ISBN 0522842194).


David Clune and Ken Turner (editors), The Premiers of New South Wales, vol. 2, (1901-2005), (Sydney: Federation Press, 2006, ISBN 186287551); Colin A Hughes and B D Graham, A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics 1890-1964, pp. 57-85, (Canberra: Australian National University Press, 1968, SBN 708102700); New South Wales, Parliament, The New South Wales Parliamentary Record: Legislative Council and Legislative Assembly, 1824-1999, vol. VI, pp. 246-308, (Sydney: Parliament of New South Wales, 1999). In consulting these sources, note the difference between ministries and periods in office.