ID 0431

Commonwealth Government of Australia beginning 24 August 2018 - period in office of Prime minister Morrison, Scott John who was still in office at 31 Dec 2018

Period in office of prime minister (see Glossary entry for 'period in office' and related terms)

Prime minister
Morrison, Scott John
Date of beginning of period in office
24 August 2018
Date of end of period in office
--in office at 31 Dec 2018-- 
Reason for end of preceding period in office
Change of party leader 
Reason for end of this government
--in office at 31 Dec 2018--
Number of days in office

Parliamentary support during period

Party affiliation of prime minister at start of period
Liberal Party
If coalition government
Coalition partner 1
National Party
Coalition partner 2
Liberal National Party (Qld)
Coalition partner 3
Country Liberal Party (NT)
Coalition partner 4
Country Liberal Party (NT)
Party support in parliament at beginning of period
If change in parliamentary support during period
20 October 2018
Coalition Minority
Loss at by-election
If further change during period

Number of ministers at beginning of period (this may vary during the period)

Total number of ministers
Number from party of prime minister
Number from coalition party 1
Number from coalition party 2
Number from upper house
Number who are women

House of Representatives elections contested as prime minister or after which became prime minister (see Glossary entry for 'after election')

This prime minister did not win office as the result of an election, and was not (or has not been) in office long enough to contest an election as prime minister; see 'Period in office' table above.

Previous period in this series for COM |


Change of party leader: Beginning of Morrison's period in office: A long series of unfavourable public opinion polls for the coalition government had led to dissatisfaction within the Liberal Party caucus over the performance of Turnbull as Prime Minister. By August 2018, caucus disagreements over Turnbull's energy policy prompted a challenge to Turnbull's leadership by Peter Dutton. In a caucus ballot on Tuesday 21 August, Turnbull retained his position as Liberal Party leader by a vote of 45 to 38 against Dutton. But developments within the Party required Turnbull to call a second Liberal caucus meeting on Friday 24 at which he was forced to resign and did not contest the leadership. In the vote for party leader which followed, the three-way contest between Julie Bishop, Peter Dutton, and Scott Morrison was won by Morrison with 45 caucus votes to Dutton's 40.

Morrison was commissioned to form a Liberal Party and National Party coalition government on Friday 24 August 2018. Morrison's full ministry of 30 ministers was commissioned on Tuesday 28 August 2018. Assistant ministers (formerly called parliamentary secretaries) are not included in the list of ministers.

Party composition of ministry: In the table of ministers, above, the composition of the coalition's parties have been assigned as follows: the Prime Minister's party (the Liberal Party) with 22 ministers; the National Party (coalition party 1) with 3 ministers; and the 4 Queensland Liberal National Party ministers and the single minister from the Country Liberal Party from the Northern Territory making 5 ministers in coalition party 2.

The coalition parties can also be divided according to the party caucus in parliament to which the ministers belong: this gives 24 ministers from the Liberal caucus and 6 ministers from the National Party caucus. The complicating factor is that, of the four ministers from the Queensland Liberal National Party, two choose to sit as Liberals (Steven Ciobo and Peter Dutton) and two sit as members of the National Party caucus (Matt Canavan and David Littleproud) as does the Northern Territory Country Liberal Party senator Nigel Scullion.