ID 0042

State Government of New South Wales beginning 2 October 1907 - period in office of Premier Wade, Charles Gregory ending on 21 October 1910

Period in office of premier (see Glossary entry for 'period in office' and related terms)

Wade, Charles Gregory
Date of beginning of period in office
2 October 1907
Date of end of period in office
21 October 1910 
Reason for end of preceding period in office
Change of party leader (see note) 
Reason for end of this government
Loss of general election
Number of days in office

Parliamentary support during period

Party affiliation of premier at start of period
Liberal Party
If coalition government
Coalition partner 1
Coalition partner 2
Coalition partner 3
Coalition partner 4
Party support in parliament at beginning of period
If change in parliamentary support during period
If further change during period

Number of ministers at beginning of period (this may vary during the period)

Total number of ministers
Number from party of premier
Number from coalition party 1
Number from coalition party 2
Number from upper house
Number who are women

Assembly elections contested as premier or after which became premier (see Glossary entry for 'after election')

* to view table drag left or right.
Election Premier at election Premier's party Premier after election Premier's party
NSW 14 October 1910Charles Gregory WadeLiberal PartyJames Sinclair Taylor McGowenAustralian Labor Party

Previous period in this series for NSW | Next period in this series for NSW


Change of party leader (Carruthers): Beginning of Wade's period in office; Carruthers resigned as Premier less than three weeks after winning an election; 'Exhausted by campaigning and vilification, he suddenly resigned the premiership at the end of September pleading ill health and advised the Governor, Sir Harry Rawson, to send for (Sir) Gregory Wade', John M Ward, 'Carruthers, Sir Joseph Hector McNeil (1856-1932)', in Bede Nairn and Geoffrey Searle (general editors), Australian Dictionary of Biography, vol. 7, pp. 574-578, at p. 577.

Loss of election (Wade): See Michael Hogan, '1910', in Michael Hogan and David Clune (editors), The People's Choice: Electoral Politics in 20th Century New South Wales, vol. 1 (1901 to 1927), pp. 91-117, (Sydney: Parliament of New South Wales and University of Sydney, 2001, ISBN 0909907390).

References: For an analysis of the role of Premier in New South Wales, see David Clune and Ken Turner, 'Introduction: The Changing Role of the Premier in the 20th Century', pp. 1-14, in Clune and Turner vol. 2 (see, 'Sources', below).

For a survey of Wade's political career, see David Clune, 'Charles (later Sir Charles) Gregory Wade', in Clune and Turner, vol. 2, pp. 77-91 (see 'Sources', below), and John M Ward, 'Wade, Sir Charles Gregory (1936-1922)', in John Ritchie (general editor) Australian Dictionary of Biography, vol. 12, pp. 340-342, (Melbourne; Melbourne University Press, 1990, ISBN 0522844375).


David Clune and Ken Turner (editors), The Premiers of New South Wales, vol. 2, (1901-2005), (Sydney: Federation Press, 2006, ISBN 186287551); Colin A Hughes and B D Graham, A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics 1890-1964, pp. 57-85, (Canberra: Australian National University Press, 1968, SBN 708102700); New South Wales, Parliament, The New South Wales Parliamentary Record: Legislative Council and Legislative Assembly, 1824-1999, vol. VI, pp. 246-308, (Sydney: Parliament of New South Wales, 1999). In consulting these sources, note the difference between ministries and periods in office.