ID 0394

State Government of South Australia beginning 18 March 2018 - period in office of Premier Marshall, Steven Spence who was still in office at 31 Dec 2018

Period in office of premier (see Glossary entry for 'period in office' and related terms)

Marshall, Steven Spence
Date of beginning of period in office
18 March 2018
Date of end of period in office
--in office at 31 Dec 2018-- 
Reason for end of preceding period in office
Loss of general election 
Reason for end of this government
--in office at 31 Dec 2018--
Number of days in office

Parliamentary support during period

Party affiliation of premier at start of period
Liberal Party
If coalition government
Coalition partner 1
Coalition partner 2
Coalition partner 3
Coalition partner 4
Party support in parliament at beginning of period
If change in parliamentary support during period
If further change during period

Number of ministers at beginning of period (this may vary during the period)

Total number of ministers
Number from party of premier
Number from coalition party 1
Number from coalition party 2
Number from upper house
Number who are women

Assembly elections contested as premier or after which became premier (see Glossary entry for 'after election')

* to view table drag left or right.
Election Premier at election Premier's party Premier after election Premier's party
SA 17 March 2018Jay Wilson WeatherillAustralian Labor PartySteven Spence MarshallLiberal Party

Previous period in this series for SA |


Premier after election: Marshall, as leader of the Liberal Party, secured a majority of seats in the House of Assembly at the elections of 17 March 2018. He was commissioned as Premier of a Liberal Party majority government on 19 March together with Chapman as Deputy Leader and Attorney General, and Lucas as Treasurer. The remaining 11 members of the ministry were sworn in on 23 March.