ID 0392

State Government of New South Wales beginning 23 January 2017 - period in office of Premier Berejiklian, Gladys who was still in office at 31 Dec 2018

Period in office of premier (see Glossary entry for 'period in office' and related terms)

Berejiklian, Gladys
Date of beginning of period in office
23 January 2017
Date of end of period in office
--in office at 31 Dec 2018-- 
Reason for end of preceding period in office
Resignation of premier 
Reason for end of this government
--in office at 31 Dec 2018--
Number of days in office

Parliamentary support during period

Party affiliation of premier at start of period
Liberal Party
If coalition government
Coalition partner 1
National Party
Coalition partner 2
Coalition partner 3
Coalition partner 4
Party support in parliament at beginning of period
If change in parliamentary support during period
If further change during period

Number of ministers at beginning of period (this may vary during the period)

Total number of ministers
Number from party of premier
Number from coalition party 1
Number from coalition party 2
Number from upper house
Number who are women

Assembly elections contested as premier or after which became premier (see Glossary entry for 'after election')

This premier did not win office as the result of an election, and was not (or has not been) in office long enough to contest an election as premier ; see 'Period in office' table above.

Previous period in this series for NSW |


Resignation of Premier (Baird): Beginning of Berejiklian's period in office. On 18 January 2017 Premier Baird announced his intention to resign as Premier because of family health problems; for context, see Norman Aborjensen, 'NSW Politics Claims Another Victim', Inside Story, 19 January 2017, online here.

Gladys Berejiklian was uncontested in the ballot for the choice of leader of the Liberal Party and was commissioned as Premier of a Liberal Party and National Party coalition government on 23 January. After discussions with the National Party, the full ministry was announced on 30 January 2017.