ID 0389

Government of the Northern Territory beginning 31 August 2016 - period in office of Premier Gunner, Michael Patrick Francis who was still in office at 31 Dec 2018

Period in office of premier (see Glossary entry for 'period in office' and related terms)

Gunner, Michael Patrick Francis
Date of beginning of period in office
31 August 2016
Date of end of period in office
--in office at 31 Dec 2018-- 
Reason for end of preceding period in office
Loss of general election 
Reason for end of this government
--in office at 31 Dec 2018--
Number of days in office

Parliamentary support during period

Party affiliation of premier at start of period
Australian Labor Party
If coalition government
Coalition partner 1
Coalition partner 2
Coalition partner 3
Coalition partner 4
Party support in parliament at beginning of period
If change in parliamentary support during period
If further change during period

Number of ministers at beginning of period (this may vary during the period)

Total number of ministers
Number from party of premier
Number from coalition party 1
Number from coalition party 2
Number from upper house
Number who are women

Assembly elections contested as premier or after which became premier (see Glossary entry for 'after election')

* to view table drag left or right.
Election Premier at election Premier's party Premier after election Premier's party
NT 27 August 2016Adam Graham GilesCountry Liberal PartyMichael Patrick Francis GunnerAustralian Labor Party

Previous period in this series for NT |


Government in office after election: After the Legislative Assembly election held on 27 August 2016, Gunner was commissioned to be Chief Minister of an Australian Labor Party majority government on 31 August. As an interim measure until the full ministry was announced, commissions were also issued on 31 August for the Treasurer and the Attorney-General. The full ministry of eight ministers was sworn in on 12 September 2016.

The previous governing party, the Country Liberal Party, won only two seats in the twenty-five member Assembly.