ID 0386

Government of the Australian Capital Territory beginning 10 December 2014 - period in office of Premier Barr, Andrew who was still in office at 31 Dec 2018

Period in office of premier (see Glossary entry for 'period in office' and related terms)

Barr, Andrew
Date of beginning of period in office
10 December 2014
Date of end of period in office
--in office at 31 Dec 2018-- 
Reason for end of preceding period in office
Change of party leader 
Reason for end of this government
--in office at 31 Dec 2018--
Number of days in office

Parliamentary support during period

Party affiliation of premier at start of period
Australian Labor Party
If coalition government
Coalition partner 1
ACT Greens
Coalition partner 2
Coalition partner 3
Coalition partner 4
Party support in parliament at beginning of period
If change in parliamentary support during period
If further change during period

Number of ministers at beginning of period (this may vary during the period)

Total number of ministers
Number from party of premier
Number from coalition party 1
Number from coalition party 2
Number from upper house
Number who are women

Assembly elections contested as premier or after which became premier (see Glossary entry for 'after election')

* to view table drag left or right.
Election Premier at election Premier's party Premier after election Premier's party
ACT 15 October 2016Andrew BarrAustralian Labor PartyAndrew BarrAustralian Labor Party

Previous period in this series for ACT |


Change of party leader: On 6 December 2014, Katy Gallagher was replaced as leader of the Australian Labor Party in the ACT Legislative Assembly and Chief Minister of a Labor Party and ACT Greens coalition government, by Andrew Barr who had been the unanimous choice of the Labor Party caucus. Gallagher had resigned her seat in the Legislative Assembly to contest preselection for a vacancy created by the resignation of the Australian Labor Party senator for the ACT.

Coalition: The coalition agreement between the Australian Labor Party and the ACT Greens was renewed, with Barr as Chief Minister of a Labor Party and ACT Greens coalition government; ACT Greens member Shane Rattenbury continued in the ministry.

Size of ministry: Chief Minister Barr's first ministry was composed of five members, a sixth to be added when the Legislative Assembly vacancy created by Gallagher's resignation was filled early in 2015; the Labor caucus would then choose another minister.

In August 2014, all members of the ACT Legislative Assembly had assented to a measure that increased the membership of the Assembly from 17 to 25 to take affect from the election due in October 2016. After this election had been held on 15 October 2016, the Barr Australian Labor Party and ACT Greens coalition government was confirmed in office with a ministry increased to seven members, three of whom were women; see 'ACT new Labor ministry revealed as Andrew Barr formally reelected as Chief Minister', ABC News, 30 October 2016, ABC website online here [accessed 9 December 2016].


ABC News, 4 December 2014, 'ACT Chief Minister Katy Gallagher to resign, run for the Senate, online here [accessed 9 December 2016].

ABC News, 10 December 2014, 'Andrew Barr elected ACT Chief Minister, seventh in history', online here [accessed 10 December 2014].

ABC News, 11 December 2014, 'ACT Chief Minister Andrew Barr unveils new ministry, Simon Corbell appointed Health Minister', online here [accessed 11 December 2014].