ID 0038

State Government of New South Wales beginning 14 September 1899 - period in office of Premier Lyne, William John ending on 28 March 1901

Period in office of premier (see Glossary entry for 'period in office' and related terms)

Lyne, William John
Date of beginning of period in office
14 September 1899
Date of end of period in office
28 March 1901 
Reason for end of preceding period in office
Defeat in parliament (see note) 
Reason for end of this government
Resignation of premier (see note)
Number of days in office

Parliamentary support during period

Party affiliation of premier at start of period
Protectionist Party
If coalition government
Coalition partner 1
Coalition partner 2
Coalition partner 3
Coalition partner 4
Party support in parliament at beginning of period
If change in parliamentary support during period
If further change during period

Number of ministers at beginning of period (this may vary during the period)

Total number of ministers
Number from party of premier
Number from coalition party 1
Number from coalition party 2
Number from upper house
Number who are women

Assembly elections contested as premier or after which became premier (see Glossary entry for 'after election')

This premier did not win office as the result of an election, and was not (or has not been) in office long enough to contest an election as premier ; see 'Period in office' table above.

Previous period in this series for NSW | Next period in this series for NSW


Defeat in parliament (Reid): Beginning of Lyne's period in office; Reid 'Resigned after defeat in Legislative Assembly on censure motion', see Clune and Turner, vol. 1 table 3, pp. 228-229 (see 'Sources', below). Lyne was then commissioned to form a government; see Hughes and Graham, pp. 59-60, (see 'Sources' below).

Resignation of premier (Lyne): Lyne 'Resigned after becoming Commonwealth Minister', see Clune and Turner, vol. 1 table 3, pp. 228-229 (see 'Sources', below).

References: For a description and analysis of the style of parliamentary government in this period see David Clune and Ken Turner, 'Introduction: The Colonial Premiers', pp. 1-12, in Clune and Turner vol. 1 (see, 'Sources', below).

For a survey of Lyne's political career, see Michael Hogan, 'William (later Sir William) John Lyne', in Clune and Turner, vol. 1, pp. 209-218 (see 'Sources', below), and Chris Cunneen, 'Lyne, Sir William John (1844-1913)', in Bede Nairn and Geoffrey Searle (general editors) Australian Dictionary of Biography, vol. 10, pp. 179-182, (Melbourne: Melbourne University Press, 1986, ISBN 0522843271).


David Clune and Ken Turner (editors), The Premiers of New South Wales, vol. 1, (1856-1901), (Sydney: Federation Press, 2006, ISBN 186287550); Colin A Hughes and B D Graham, A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics 1890-1964, pp. 57-85, (Canberra: Australian National University Press, 1968, SBN 708102700); New South Wales, Parliament, The New South Wales Parliamentary Record: Legislative Council and Legislative Assembly, 1824-1999, vol. VI, pp. 246-308, (Sydney: Parliament of New South Wales, 1999). In consulting these sources, note the difference between ministries and periods in office.