ID 0377

Commonwealth Government of Australia beginning 27 June 2013 - period in office of Prime minister Rudd, Kevin ending on 18 September 2013

Period in office of prime minister (see Glossary entry for 'period in office' and related terms)

Prime minister
Rudd, Kevin
Date of beginning of period in office
27 June 2013
Date of end of period in office
18 September 2013 
Reason for end of preceding period in office
Change of party leader 
Reason for end of this government
Loss of general election
Number of days in office

Parliamentary support during period

Party affiliation of prime minister at start of period
Australian Labor Party
If coalition government
Coalition partner 1
Coalition partner 2
Coalition partner 3
Coalition partner 4
Party support in parliament at beginning of period
If change in parliamentary support during period
If further change during period

Number of ministers at beginning of period (this may vary during the period)

Total number of ministers
Number from party of prime minister
Number from coalition party 1
Number from coalition party 2
Number from upper house
Number who are women

House of Representatives elections contested as prime minister or after which became prime minister (see Glossary entry for 'after election')

* to view table drag left or right.
Election Prime minister at election Prime minister's party Prime minister after election Prime minister's party
COM 7 September 2013Kevin RuddAustralian Labor PartyAnthony John (Tony) AbbottLiberal Party
COM 24 November 2007John Winston HowardLiberal PartyKevin RuddAustralian Labor Party

Previous period in this series for COM | Next period in this series for COM


Change of party leader: Beginning of Rudd's second period in office: At a meeting held on 26 June 2013, the Parliamentary Labor Party voted to depose Gillard as leader of the Australian Labor Party and replace her with Rudd. There had been dissention in the caucus over the leadership, and increasing concern with falling support for the Labor government in the electorate.

Rudd was commissioned as Prime Minister of an Australian Labor Party minority government on 27 June 2013 after the Governor-General received assurances from Rudd that the five Independent members and one Australian Greens member of the House of Representatives would support a vote of confidence in the new government. Two other ministers were also commissioned (deputy prime minister and treasurer) to form an interim ministry until a full ministry could be commissioned.

The full ministry of thirty was sworn in on 1 July 2013, with twenty ministers in the cabinet, and ten in the outer ministry.


The Australian, 27 June 2013, online here (a subscription may be required) [accessed 20 September 2015].