ID 0369

Government of the Australian Capital Territory beginning 6 November 2012 - period in office of Premier Gallagher, Katy ending on 10 December 2014

Period in office of premier (see Glossary entry for 'period in office' and related terms)

Gallagher, Katy
Date of beginning of period in office
6 November 2012
Date of end of period in office
10 December 2014 
Reason for end of preceding period in office
Change of partisan support for premier/PM (see notes) 
Reason for end of this government
Change of party leader
Number of days in office

Parliamentary support during period

Party affiliation of premier at start of period
Australian Labor Party
If coalition government
Coalition partner 1
ACT Greens
Coalition partner 2
Coalition partner 3
Coalition partner 4
Party support in parliament at beginning of period
If change in parliamentary support during period
If further change during period

Number of ministers at beginning of period (this may vary during the period)

Total number of ministers
Number from party of premier
Number from coalition party 1
Number from coalition party 2
Number from upper house
Number who are women

Assembly elections contested as premier or after which became premier (see Glossary entry for 'after election')

* to view table drag left or right.
Election Premier at election Premier's party Premier after election Premier's party
ACT 20 October 2012Katy GallagherAustralian Labor PartyKaty GallagherAustralian Labor Party

Previous period in this series for ACT | Next period in this series for ACT


Change of partisan support for Premier: Beginning of Gallagher's second period in office as Chief Minister; At the election for the ACT Legislative Assembly on 20 October 2012, both the Australian Labor Party and the Liberal Party won eight seats in the 17 seat Assembly.  The ACT Greens, who had supported the previous Australian Labor Party minority government under Chief Minister Gallagher, lost three of their four seats with Shane Rattenbury as their sole representative. After a period of negotiation betwee the ACT Greens and both the Labor and Liberal parties, the ACT Greens agreed to join the Labor Party in a coalition government, a commitment the ACT Greens had not previously been willing to make.

A formal agreement was made between the Labor Party and the ACT Greens on 2 November 2012 covering a range of policy commitments for the new government and Rattenbury joined the Gallagher ministry as a minister in an Australian Labor Party and ACT Greens coalition government. Gallagher was elected as Chief Minister in the Legislative Assembly on 6 November and a list of ministers and their responsibilities was issued on 9 November 2012.

Change of party leader: On 6 December 2014, Katy Gallagher was replaced as leader of the Australian Labor Party in the ACT Legislative Assembly and Chief Minister of a Labor Party and ACT Greens coalition government, by Andrew Barr. Gallagher had resigned her seat in the Legislative Assembly to take up a vacancy created by the resignation of the Australian Labor Party senator for the ACT.


'Parliamentary Agreement for the 8th Legislative Assembly for the Australian Capital Territory' Posted 5 November 2012 by Katy Gallagher: [accessed 12 December 2014]

Australian Capital Territory (Self-Government) Ministerial Appointment 2012 (No 2), Notifiable Instrument NI2012-, signed by Katy Gallagher, Chief Minister, 9 November 2012: [accessed 12 December 2014]