ID 0365

State Government of Queensland beginning 26 March 2012 - period in office of Premier Newman, Campbell Kevin Thomas ending on 14 December 2015

Period in office of premier (see Glossary entry for 'period in office' and related terms)

Newman, Campbell Kevin Thomas
Date of beginning of period in office
26 March 2012
Date of end of period in office
14 December 2015 
Reason for end of preceding period in office
Loss of general election 
Reason for end of this government
Loss of general election
Number of days in office

Parliamentary support during period

Party affiliation of premier at start of period
Liberal National Party
If coalition government
Coalition partner 1
Coalition partner 2
Coalition partner 3
Coalition partner 4
Party support in parliament at beginning of period
If change in parliamentary support during period
If further change during period

Number of ministers at beginning of period (this may vary during the period)

Total number of ministers
Number from party of premier
Number from coalition party 1
Number from coalition party 2
Number from upper house
Number who are women

Assembly elections contested as premier or after which became premier (see Glossary entry for 'after election')

* to view table drag left or right.
Election Premier at election Premier's party Premier after election Premier's party
QLD 31 January 2015Campbell Kevin Thomas NewmanLiberal National PartyAnnastacia PalaszczukAustralian Labor Party
QLD 24 March 2012Anna Maria BlighAustralian Labor PartyCampbell Kevin Thomas NewmanLiberal National Party

Previous period in this series for QLD | Next period in this series for QLD


Loss of general election: Beginning of Newman's period in office; Premier Bligh was first commissioned as Premier on 13 September 2007 and had been returned as Premier of an Australian Labor Party majority government at the Legislative Assembly election held in March 2009. At the March 2012 Assembly election, the Labor Party lost more than 80 percent of its seats in a landslide to the Liberal National Party. Premier Bligh was successful in retaining her electoral district of South Brisbane but, in the wake of the defeat of her government, chose to resign her seat.

Interim ministry: On the Monday after the Assembly election (26 March 2012) Premier Bligh resigned and Newman was commissioned as Premier of a Liberal National Party majority government with an interim ministry of three members. In addition to the Premier, the two other ministers were Jeffrey Seeney and Timothy Nicholls; eighteen ministries were divided between these three ministers (see Queensland Gazette 26 March in 'Sources', below). The interim ministry was terminated on 3 April 2012, and a new ministry of nineteen members was commissioned (see Queensland Gazette 3 April in 'Sources', below). The ministry of 3 April 2012 is the one used for the table above, even though the date of the change of government is listed as 26 March 2012.


Queensland Government Gazette, Extraordinary, Monday 26 March 2012, vol. 359 no. 72;
Queensland Government Gazette, Extraordinary, Tuesday 3 April 2012, vol. 359 no. 77.
For access online, see: Back Issues - 2012 [accessed 6 April 2012]