ID 0036

State Government of New South Wales beginning 23 October 1891 - period in office of Premier Dibbs, George Richard ending on 3 August 1894

Period in office of premier (see Glossary entry for 'period in office' and related terms)

Dibbs, George Richard
Date of beginning of period in office
23 October 1891
Date of end of period in office
3 August 1894 
Reason for end of preceding period in office
Defeat in parliament (see note) 
Reason for end of this government
Loss of general election
Number of days in office

Parliamentary support during period

Party affiliation of premier at start of period
Protectionist Party
If coalition government
Coalition partner 1
Coalition partner 2
Coalition partner 3
Coalition partner 4
Party support in parliament at beginning of period
If change in parliamentary support during period
If further change during period

Number of ministers at beginning of period (this may vary during the period)

Total number of ministers
Number from party of premier
Number from coalition party 1
Number from coalition party 2
Number from upper house
Number who are women

Assembly elections contested as premier or after which became premier (see Glossary entry for 'after election')

* to view table drag left or right.
Election Premier at election Premier's party Premier after election Premier's party
NSW 16 October 1885George Richard DibbsSupport from parliamentary factions and independentsJohn RobertsonSupport from parliamentary factions and independents

Previous period in this series for NSW | Next period in this series for NSW


Defeat in parliament (Parkes): Beginning of Dibbs's third period in office; Parkes 'Resigned after defeat in Legislative Assembly', see Clune and Turner, vol. 1 table 3, pp. 228-229 (see 'Sources', below). Dibbs was then commissioned to form a minority Protectionist government; see Hughes and Graham, p. 58, (see 'Sources', below).

Loss of election (Dibbs): 'Following the July 1894 election which gave Free Trade an absolute majority in the Legislative Assembly, Dibbs resigned and Reid was commissioned to form a new government', see Hughes and Graham, p. 59, (see 'Sources', below).

References: For a description and analysis of the style of parliamentary government in this period see David Clune and Ken Turner, 'Introduction: The Colonial Premiers', pp. 1-12, in Clune and Turner vol. 1 (see, 'Sources', below) and Peter Loveday and A W Martin, Parliament, Factions and Parties: The First Thirty Years of Responsible Government in New South Wales, 1856-1889, (Melbourne: Melbourne University Press, 1966); for the emergence of parties in New South Wales, note also P Loveday, A W Martin and Patrick Weller, 'New South Wales', in P Loveday, A W Martin and R S Parker, (editors), The Emergence of the Australian Party System, pp. 172-248, (Sydney: Hale and Iremonger, 1977 ISBN 0908094035).

For a survey of Dibbs's political career, see T W Campbell, 'George (later Sir George) Richard Dibbs', in Clune and Turner, vol. 1, pp. 169-177 (see 'Sources', below), and Bruce E Mansfield, 'Dibbs, Sir George Richard (1834-1904)', in Douglas Pike (general editor), Australian Dictionary of Biography, vol. 4, pp. 65-69, (Melbourne: Melbourne University Press, 1972, ISBN 0522840345).


David Clune and Ken Turner (editors), The Premiers of New South Wales, vol. 1, (1856-1901), (Sydney: Federation Press, 2006, ISBN 186287550); Colin A Hughes and B D Graham, A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics 1890-1964, pp. 57-85, (Canberra: Australian National University Press, 1968, SBN 708102700); New South Wales, Parliament, The New South Wales Parliamentary Record: Legislative Council and Legislative Assembly, 1824-1999, vol. VI, pp. 246-308, (Sydney: Parliament of New South Wales, 1999). In consulting these sources, note the difference between ministries and periods in office.