ID 0339

State Government of Victoria beginning 29 April 1857 - period in office of Premier Haines, William Clark ending on 10 March 1858

Period in office of premier (see Glossary entry for 'period in office' and related terms)

Haines, William Clark
Date of beginning of period in office
29 April 1857
Date of end of period in office
10 March 1858 
Reason for end of preceding period in office
Defeat in parliament 
Reason for end of this government
Defeat in parliament
Number of days in office

Parliamentary support during period

Party affiliation of premier at start of period
Support from parliamentary factions and independents
If coalition government
Coalition partner 1
Coalition partner 2
Coalition partner 3
Coalition partner 4
Party support in parliament at beginning of period
If change in parliamentary support during period
If further change during period

Number of ministers at beginning of period (this may vary during the period)

Total number of ministers
Number from party of premier
Number from coalition party 1
Number from coalition party 2
Number from upper house
Number who are women

Assembly elections contested as premier or after which became premier (see Glossary entry for 'after election')

* to view table drag left or right.
Election Premier at election Premier's party Premier after election Premier's party
VIC 23 September 1856William Clark HainesSupport from parliamentary factions and independents

Previous period in this series for VIC | Next period in this series for VIC


Defeat in parliament (O'Shanassy): Beginning of Haines second period in office; 'When parliament reassembled in Mid-April the numbers were against the government. A group led by Michie and McCulloch -- largely of mercantile non-conformist liberals, all abolitionists of state aide to religion -- which had voted against Haines, now rejoined him and arranged a new ministry', Serle, p.262 (see 'References', below). The government was defeated on a vote of no-confidence on 22 April 1857; Victorian Hansard (Argus Reports), 1856-7 vol. 2, 22 April 1857, pp 607-638. The new Haines ministry was commissioned on 29 April 1857.

With the support of McCulloch, '...the second Haines government was much more broadly based than the first, was strongly mercantile in interest with squatting and agricultural representation, and could expect support from all but the O'Shanassy-Duffy faction and the democratic left', Serle p.263 (see 'References', below).

Defeat in parliament (Haines): A variety of issues relating to parliamentary reform and and electoral redistribution divided both the Assembly and members of the government (Serle, pp 273-278, see 'References', below). The government was defeated on an amendment to the Assembly Members Increase Bill on 23 February 1858; 'Haines sounded out the governor on the possibility of calling an election, but he [Haines] was unable to guarantee the unity of his Cabinet if they went to the polls. Defeated in Parliament and divided among themselves, the government resigned', Waugh, p. 17 (see 'References', below). Haines tendered his resignation to the Governor on 24 February; Victorian Hansard (Argus Reports), 1857-1858 vol. 3, 24 February 1858, p.316.

References: For a detailed study of parliamentary government in Victoria during this period, see, Geoffrey Serle, The Golden Age: A History of the Colony of Victoria, 1851-1861, (Melbourne: Melbourne University Press, 1963).

In addition to the reference above, a study of Haines's premiership can be found in John Waugh, 'Haines, O'Shanassy, Nicholson and Heales: The Old Guard', in Strangio and Costar (editors), ch. 2 (see 'Sources', below), and for a survey of Haines's career, see Betty Malone, 'Haines, William Clark (1810–1866)', Australian Dictionary of Biography, Volume 4, (Melbourne: Melbourne University Press, 1972), on line here. [accessed 30 January 2014].


Parliament of Victoria, One Hundred Years of Responsible Government 1856-1956, (Melbourne: Government Printer, 1957, Parliamentary Paper No. 40 of 1956-58); Paul Strangio and Brian Costar (editors), The Victorian Premiers 1856-2006, (Sydney: Federation Press, 2006, ISBN 9781862876019); Raymond Wright, A People's Counsel: A History of the Parliament of Victoria 1856-1990, (Melbourne: Oxford University Press, 1992, ISBN 0195533593). In consulting these sources, note the difference between ministries and periods in office.