ID 0320

State Government of Victoria beginning 2 December 2010 - period in office of Premier Baillieu, Edward Norman ending on 6 March 2013

Period in office of premier (see Glossary entry for 'period in office' and related terms)

Baillieu, Edward Norman
Date of beginning of period in office
2 December 2010
Date of end of period in office
6 March 2013 
Reason for end of preceding period in office
Loss of general election 
Reason for end of this government
Change of party leader
Number of days in office

Parliamentary support during period

Party affiliation of premier at start of period
Liberal Party
If coalition government
Coalition partner 1
National Party
Coalition partner 2
Coalition partner 3
Coalition partner 4
Party support in parliament at beginning of period
If change in parliamentary support during period
If further change during period

Number of ministers at beginning of period (this may vary during the period)

Total number of ministers
Number from party of premier
Number from coalition party 1
Number from coalition party 2
Number from upper house
Number who are women

Assembly elections contested as premier or after which became premier (see Glossary entry for 'after election')

* to view table drag left or right.
Election Premier at election Premier's party Premier after election Premier's party
VIC 27 November 2010John Mansfield BrumbyAustralian Labor PartyEdward Norman BaillieuLiberal Party

Previous period in this series for VIC | Next period in this series for VIC


Loss of general election (Brumby): Beginning of Baillieu's period in office; The Brumby Australian Labor Party government was narrowly defeated at the Legislative Assembly election held on 27 November 2010 by the combined votes won by the Liberal Party and the National Party. The Leader of the Liberal Party since May 2006, Baillieu, was commissioned as Premier of a Liberal Party and National Party coalition government. For the choice of Baillieu as Leader of the Liberal Party, see Nick Economou, 'Victoria', Australian Journal of Politics and History, Political Chronicle, January to June, 52(4) December 2006: 650-656 at 652-654.

A detailed study of the election is provided by Bella Lesman, Rachel Macreadie and Greg Gardiner, The 2010 Victorian State Election, Research Paper No.1, April 2011 (Melbourne: Research Services, Parliamentary Library, Department of Parliamentary Services, Parliament of Victoria, 2011, ISSN 1836-7941 Print, 1836-795X). A briefer survey and analysis can be found in Nick Economou, 'Victoria', Australian Journal of Politics and History, Australian Political Chronicle, 57 (2) June 2011: 296-303.

Change of party leader (Baillieu): The sudden resignation of Premier Baillieu as Leader of the Liberal Party on 6 March 2013 was linked to the defection of Geoffrey Shaw from the parliamentary Liberal Party to sit as an Independent, with the effect of depriving the Baillieu government of its parliamentary majority. Shaw had threatened to cross the floor and vote down the Liberal Party and National Party coalition government unless Baillieu resigned as Premier. Premier Baillieu had been facing public criticism of his polices, dissatisfaction from within his party caucus, and faced a popular Australian Labor Party opposition. For analysis of Baillieu's resignation and its context, see Nick Economou, 'Victoria', Australian Journal of Politics and History, Political Chronicle, 59 (4) December 2013: 630-636.

References: The Australian Journal of Politics and History has given brief summaries of Victorian politics and government since 1956 in the 'Political Chronicle' section of the journal in issues of each annual volume. This publication can be viewed online through Wiley-Blackwell Journals at subscribing libraries.