ID 0312

State Government of Tasmania beginning 5 March 1878 - period in office of Premier Giblin, William Robert ending on 20 December 1878

Period in office of premier (see Glossary entry for 'period in office' and related terms)

Giblin, William Robert
Date of beginning of period in office
5 March 1878
Date of end of period in office
20 December 1878 
Reason for end of preceding period in office
Resignation of premier (see note) 
Reason for end of this government
Resignation of premier (see note)
Number of days in office

Parliamentary support during period

Party affiliation of premier at start of period
Support from parliamentary factions and independents
If coalition government
Coalition partner 1
Coalition partner 2
Coalition partner 3
Coalition partner 4
Party support in parliament at beginning of period
If change in parliamentary support during period
If further change during period

Number of ministers at beginning of period (this may vary during the period)

Total number of ministers
Number from party of premier
Number from coalition party 1
Number from coalition party 2
Number from upper house
Number who are women

Assembly elections contested as premier or after which became premier (see Glossary entry for 'after election')

* to view table drag left or right.
Election Premier at election Premier's party Premier after election Premier's party
TAS 25 May 1882William Robert GiblinSupport from parliamentary factions and independentsWilliam Robert GiblinSupport from parliamentary factions and independents

Previous period in this series for TAS | Next period in this series for TAS


Resignation of premier (Fysh): Beginning of Giblin's first period in office: Fysh attempted to resign in December 1877 after he lost a vote of confidence in his administration, but Governor Weld refused to accept his resignation. The House of Assembly then adjourned and, when it resumed, Fysh tendered his resignation again and Governor Weld reluctantly accepted it. But Weld refused the resignations of the rest of the ministry and Giblin was commissioned as Premier; see Terry Newman, Sandstone and Statutes: A History of the Tasmanian Parliament, (in process), and note the footnote to Fysh's ministry in Journal of House of Assembly: 'On Mr Fysh's retirement from the position of Premier, in March 1878, he was succeeded by Mr Giblin, without any further change in the constitution of the Ministry', see 'Sources', below for reference.

Resignation of premier (Giblin): Without being able to make progress with the financial policies which he inherited from the Fysh government, Giblin resigned as Premier.

References: For a description of the style of parliamentary government in this period, see John Reynolds, 'Premiers and Political Leaders', in F C Green (editor), Tasmania: A Century of Responsible Government 1856-1956, pp 115-192, (Hobart: L G Shea, Government Printer, [1956]), and note Terry Newman, Tasmanian Premiers 1856-1988: A Biographical Handbook, (Hobart: Tasmanian Parliamentary Library, [1988]).

For a survey of Giblin's career, see E M Dollery, 'Giblin, William Robert (1840 - 1887)', Australian Dictionary of Biography, Volume 4, pp 243-244, (Melbourne: Melbourne University Press, 1972), on line at:


'Ministries: Names of the Members of Successive Ministries which have held Office in Tasmania since the inauguration of Responsible Government, together with the Dates of Appointment and Retirement', Journal of House of Assembly, Second Session of the Forty-Fifth Parliament of Tasmania, Anno LIII and LV Eliz II; Session 2 of the 45th Parliament, Volume 251, 2004-2006, (Hobart: Government Printer, Tasmania).