ID 0311

State Government of Tasmania beginning 9 August 1877 - period in office of Premier Fysh, Philip Oakley ending on 5 March 1878

Period in office of premier (see Glossary entry for 'period in office' and related terms)

Fysh, Philip Oakley
Date of beginning of period in office
9 August 1877
Date of end of period in office
5 March 1878 
Reason for end of preceding period in office
Loss of general election 
Reason for end of this government
Resignation of premier (see note)
Number of days in office

Parliamentary support during period

Party affiliation of premier at start of period
Support from parliamentary factions and independents
If coalition government
Coalition partner 1
Coalition partner 2
Coalition partner 3
Coalition partner 4
Party support in parliament at beginning of period
If change in parliamentary support during period
If further change during period

Number of ministers at beginning of period (this may vary during the period)

Total number of ministers
Number from party of premier
Number from coalition party 1
Number from coalition party 2
Number from upper house
Number who are women

Assembly elections contested as premier or after which became premier (see Glossary entry for 'after election')

* to view table drag left or right.
Election Premier at election Premier's party Premier after election Premier's party
TAS 22 May 1891Philip Oakley FyshMinisterialistsPhilip Oakley FyshMinisterialists
TAS 30 May 1877Thomas ReibySupport from parliamentary factions and independentsPhilip Oakley FyshSupport from parliamentary factions and independents

Previous period in this series for TAS | Next period in this series for TAS


Loss of election (Reibey): Beginning of Fysh's first period in office: Reibey lost a vote of confidence in June 1877 and was granted a dissolution. Despite the electoral success of his supporters, Reibey lost another vote of confidence after the election and Fysh was installed for his first period in office as Premier; see Terry Newman, Sandstone and Statutes: A History of the Tasmanian Parliament, (in process).

Resignation of premier (Fysh): Fysh attempted to resign in December 1877 after he lost a vote of confidence in his administration, but Governor Weld refused to accept his resignation. The House of Assembly then adjourned and, when it resumed, Fysh tendered his resignation again and Governor Weld reluctantly accepted it; see Terry Newman, Sandstone and Statutes: A History of the Tasmanian Parliament, (in process).

References: For a description of the style of parliamentary government in this period, see John Reynolds, 'Premiers and Political Leaders', in F C Green (editor), Tasmania: A Century of Responsible Government 1856-1956, pp 115-192, (Hobart: L G Shea, Government Printer, [1956]), and note Terry Newman, Tasmanian Premiers 1856-1988: A Biographical Handbook, (Hobart: Tasmanian Parliamentary Library, [1988]).

For a survey of Fysh's career, see Quentin Beresford, 'Fysh, Sir Philip Oakley (1835 - 1919)', Australian Dictionary of Biography, Volume 8, p. 602, (Melbourne: Melbourne University Press, 1981), on line at:


'Ministries: Names of the Members of Successive Ministries which have held Office in Tasmania since the inauguration of Responsible Government, together with the Dates of Appointment and Retirement', Journal of House of Assembly, Second Session of the Forty-Fifth Parliament of Tasmania, Anno LIII and LV Eliz II; Session 2 of the 45th Parliament, Volume 251, 2004-2006, (Hobart: Government Printer, Tasmania).