ID 0310

State Government of Tasmania beginning 20 July 1876 - period in office of Premier Reiby, Thomas ending on 9 August 1877

Period in office of premier (see Glossary entry for 'period in office' and related terms)

Reiby, Thomas
Date of beginning of period in office
20 July 1876
Date of end of period in office
9 August 1877 
Reason for end of preceding period in office
Resignation of premier (see note) 
Reason for end of this government
Loss of general election
Number of days in office

Parliamentary support during period

Party affiliation of premier at start of period
Support from parliamentary factions and independents
If coalition government
Coalition partner 1
Coalition partner 2
Coalition partner 3
Coalition partner 4
Party support in parliament at beginning of period
If change in parliamentary support during period
If further change during period

Number of ministers at beginning of period (this may vary during the period)

Total number of ministers
Number from party of premier
Number from coalition party 1
Number from coalition party 2
Number from upper house
Number who are women

Assembly elections contested as premier or after which became premier (see Glossary entry for 'after election')

* to view table drag left or right.
Election Premier at election Premier's party Premier after election Premier's party
TAS 30 May 1877Thomas ReibySupport from parliamentary factions and independentsPhilip Oakley FyshSupport from parliamentary factions and independents

Previous period in this series for TAS | Next period in this series for TAS


Resignation of premier (Kennerley): Beginning of Reibey's period in office: 'It appears that the personal qualities of the Premier [Kennerley] were not sufficient to enable the Ministry to overcome the antagonism of certain factions in the Parliament and so he resigned and retired from public life', Reynolds p. 143, (see 'References', below). Reibey was then commissioned to from a government.

Loss of election (Reibey): Reibey lost a vote of confidence in June 1877 and was granted a dissolution. Despite the electoral success of his supporters, Reibey lost another vote of confidence after the election and Fysh was installed for his first period in office as Premier; see Terry Newman, Sandstone and Statutes: A History of the Tasmanian Parliament, (in process).

References: For a description of the style of parliamentary government in this period, see John Reynolds, 'Premiers and Political Leaders', in F C Green (editor), Tasmania: A Century of Responsible Government 1856-1956, pp 115-192, (Hobart: L G Shea, Government Printer, [1956]), and note Terry Newman, Tasmanian Premiers 1856-1988: A Biographical Handbook, (Hobart: Tasmanian Parliamentary Library, [1988]).

For a survey of Reibey's career, see Peter Bolger, 'Reibey, Thomas (1821 - 1912)', Australian Dictionary of Biography, Volume 6, p. 17, (Melbourne: Melbourne University Press, 1976), on line at:


'Ministries: Names of the Members of Successive Ministries which have held Office in Tasmania since the inauguration of Responsible Government, together with the Dates of Appointment and Retirement', Journal of House of Assembly, Second Session of the Forty-Fifth Parliament of Tasmania, Anno LIII and LV Eliz II; Session 2 of the 45th Parliament, Volume 251, 2004-2006, (Hobart: Government Printer, Tasmania).