ID 0308

State Government of Tasmania beginning 4 November 1872 - period in office of Premier Innes, Frederick Maitland ending on 4 August 1873

Period in office of premier (see Glossary entry for 'period in office' and related terms)

Innes, Frederick Maitland
Date of beginning of period in office
4 November 1872
Date of end of period in office
4 August 1873 
Reason for end of preceding period in office
Loss of general election 
Reason for end of this government
Defeat in parliament (see note)
Number of days in office

Parliamentary support during period

Party affiliation of premier at start of period
Support from parliamentary factions and independents
If coalition government
Coalition partner 1
Coalition partner 2
Coalition partner 3
Coalition partner 4
Party support in parliament at beginning of period
If change in parliamentary support during period
If further change during period

Number of ministers at beginning of period (this may vary during the period)

Total number of ministers
Number from party of premier
Number from coalition party 1
Number from coalition party 2
Number from upper house
Number who are women

Assembly elections contested as premier or after which became premier (see Glossary entry for 'after election')

* to view table drag left or right.
Election Premier at election Premier's party Premier after election Premier's party
TAS 5 September 1872James Milne WilsonSupport from parliamentary factions and independentsFrederick Maitland InnesSupport from parliamentary factions and independents

Previous period in this series for TAS | Next period in this series for TAS


Loss of election (Wilson): Beginning of Innes's period in office: Wilson's government lost a vote of confidence over taxation measures and Wilson offered to resign as Premier but 'no new government could be formed so an election was required in September 1872', Newman, p. 23 (see 'References', below). The loss of a vote confidence after the election ended Wilson's period in office. Innes was then commissioned to form a government.

Defeat in parliament (Innes): 'Once again fiscal problems caused the government to fall for when Innes attempted to introduce a new railway tax his precarious government was defeated', Newman p. 25, (see 'References', below).

References: For a description of the style of parliamentary government in this period, see John Reynolds, 'Premiers and Political Leaders', in F C Green (editor), Tasmania: A Century of Responsible Government 1856-1956, pp 115-192, (Hobart: L G Shea, Government Printer, [1956]), and note Terry Newman, Tasmanian Premiers 1856-1988: A Biographical Handbook, (Hobart: Tasmanian Parliamentary Library, [1988]).

For a survey of Innes's career, see C M Sullivan , 'Innes, Frederick Maitland (1816 - 1882)', Australian Dictionary of Biography, Volume 4, pp 458-459, (Melbourne: Melbourne University Press, 1972), on line at:


'Ministries: Names of the Members of Successive Ministries which have held Office in Tasmania since the inauguration of Responsible Government, together with the Dates of Appointment and Retirement', Journal of House of Assembly, Second Session of the Forty-Fifth Parliament of Tasmania, Anno LIII and LV Eliz II; Session 2 of the 45th Parliament, Volume 251, 2004-2006, (Hobart: Government Printer, Tasmania).