ID 0300

State Government of Tasmania beginning 26 February 1857 - period in office of Premier Gregson, Thomas George ending on 25 April 1857

Period in office of premier (see Glossary entry for 'period in office' and related terms)

Gregson, Thomas George
Date of beginning of period in office
26 February 1857
Date of end of period in office
25 April 1857 
Reason for end of preceding period in office
Resignation of premier (see note) 
Reason for end of this government
Defeat in parliament (see note)
Number of days in office

Parliamentary support during period

Party affiliation of premier at start of period
Support from parliamentary factions and independents
If coalition government
Coalition partner 1
Coalition partner 2
Coalition partner 3
Coalition partner 4
Party support in parliament at beginning of period
If change in parliamentary support during period
If further change during period

Number of ministers at beginning of period (this may vary during the period)

Total number of ministers
Number from party of premier
Number from coalition party 1
Number from coalition party 2
Number from upper house
Number who are women

Assembly elections contested as premier or after which became premier (see Glossary entry for 'after election')

This premier did not win office as the result of an election, and was not (or has not been) in office long enough to contest an election as premier ; see 'Period in office' table above.

Previous period in this series for TAS | Next period in this series for TAS


Resignation of premier (Champ): Beginning of Gregson's period in office: Champ 'resigned after a vital amendment to his finance bill was carried [the reduction of the Governor's salary]. Governor Young, probably with misgivings, commissioned the mover of the amendment, Thomas George Gregson, in the absence of an organised party system, to form a government', Reynolds, p. 116, (see 'References', below).

Defeat in parliament (Gregson): Gregson's government 'was defeated soon after it met the House by a motion of no-confidence proposed by the Anti-Transportation Leader, William Pritchett Weston', Reynolds p. 117, (see 'References', below). Both Green and Newman suggest that the motion prompting the no-confidence vote was one of censure; (see Green, and Newman, 'References', below).

References: For a description of the style of parliamentary government in this period, see John Reynolds, 'Premiers and Political Leaders', in F C Green (editor), Tasmania: A Century of Responsible Government 1856-1956, pp 115-192, (Hobart: L G Shea, Government Printer, [1956]), and note Terry Newman, Tasmanian Premiers 1856-1988: A Biographical Handbook, (Hobart: Tasmanian Parliamentary Library, [1988]).

For a survey of Gregson's career, see F C Green, 'Gregson, Thomas George (1798-1874)', Australian Dictionary of Biography, Volume 1, pp 475-476, (Melbourne: Melbourne University Press, 1966), on line at:


'Ministries: Names of the Members of Successive Ministries which have held Office in Tasmania since the inauguration of Responsible Government, together with the Dates of Appointment and Retirement', Journal of House of Assembly, Second Session of the Forty-Fifth Parliament of Tasmania, Anno LIII and LV Eliz II; Session 2 of the 45th Parliament, Volume 251, 2004-2006, (Hobart: Government Printer, Tasmania).