ID 0299

State Government of Tasmania beginning 1 November 1856 - period in office of Premier Champ, William Thomas Napier ending on 26 February 1857

Period in office of premier (see Glossary entry for 'period in office' and related terms)

Champ, William Thomas Napier
Date of beginning of period in office
1 November 1856
Date of end of period in office
26 February 1857 
Reason for end of preceding period in office
First ministry 
Reason for end of this government
Resignation of premier (see note)
Number of days in office

Parliamentary support during period

Party affiliation of premier at start of period
Support from parliamentary factions and independents
If coalition government
Coalition partner 1
Coalition partner 2
Coalition partner 3
Coalition partner 4
Party support in parliament at beginning of period
If change in parliamentary support during period
If further change during period

Number of ministers at beginning of period (this may vary during the period)

Total number of ministers
Number from party of premier
Number from coalition party 1
Number from coalition party 2
Number from upper house
Number who are women

Assembly elections contested as premier or after which became premier (see Glossary entry for 'after election')

* to view table drag left or right.
Election Premier at election Premier's party Premier after election Premier's party
TAS 8 September 1856William Thomas Napier ChampSupport from parliamentary factions and independents

Next period in this series for TAS


First ministry: Champ was the first Premier to take office as head of government under the system of parliamentary self-government granted to Tasmania by Britain. On the choice of Champ as Premier, see Reynolds, p. 115 (see 'References', below).

Resignation of premier: Champ 'resigned after a vital amendment to his finance bill was carried [the reduction of the Governor's salary]', Reynolds, p. 116, (see 'References', below).

References: For a description of the style of parliamentary government in this period, see John Reynolds, 'Premiers and Political Leaders', in F C Green (editor), Tasmania: A Century of Responsible Government 1856-1956, pp 115-192, (Hobart: L G Shea, Government Printer, [1956]), and note Terry Newman, Tasmanian Premiers 1856-1988: A Biographical Handbook, (Hobart: Tasmanian Parliamentary Library, [1988]).

For a survey of Champ's career, see John V Barry, 'Champ, William Thomas Napier (1808-1892)', Australian Dictionary of Biography, Volume 3, pp 379-380, (Melbourne: Melbourne University Press, 1969); on line at:


'Ministries: Names of the Members of Successive Ministries which have held Office in Tasmania since the inauguration of Responsible Government, together with the Dates of Appointment and Retirement', Journal of House of Assembly, Second Session of the Forty-Fifth Parliament of Tasmania, Anno LIII and LV Eliz II; Session 2 of the 45th Parliament, Volume 251, 2004-2006, (Hobart: Government Printer, Tasmania).