ID 0296

State Government of Tasmania beginning 26 May 2008 - period in office of Premier Bartlett, David John ending on 21 April 2010

Period in office of premier (see Glossary entry for 'period in office' and related terms)

Bartlett, David John
Date of beginning of period in office
26 May 2008
Date of end of period in office
21 April 2010 
Reason for end of preceding period in office
Change of party leader 
Reason for end of this government
Change of partisan support for premier/PM
Number of days in office

Parliamentary support during period

Party affiliation of premier at start of period
Australian Labor Party
If coalition government
Coalition partner 1
Coalition partner 2
Coalition partner 3
Coalition partner 4
Party support in parliament at beginning of period
If change in parliamentary support during period
If further change during period

Number of ministers at beginning of period (this may vary during the period)

Total number of ministers
Number from party of premier
Number from coalition party 1
Number from coalition party 2
Number from upper house
Number who are women

Assembly elections contested as premier or after which became premier (see Glossary entry for 'after election')

* to view table drag left or right.
Election Premier at election Premier's party Premier after election Premier's party
TAS 20 March 2010David John BartlettAustralian Labor PartyDavid John BartlettAustralian Labor Party

Previous period in this series for TAS | Next period in this series for TAS


Change of party leader: Beginning of Bartlett's first period in office: Lennon resigned as Premier, and Bartlett was chosen by the Labor caucus as leader. Bartlett was then commissioned as Premier of an Australian Labor Party majority government. For a survey of the political context of this change of party leader, see Richard Herr, 'Tasmania', Australian Journal of Politics and History, Australian Political Chronicle, January-June 2008, 54 (4) December 2008: 646-651.

References: For Bartlett's period in office, note that the Australian Journal of Politics and History has provided brief surveys of Tasmanian politics since 1956 in the 'Political Chronicle' section of the journal in issues of each annual volume. This publication can be viewed online through Wiley-Blackwell Journals at subscribing libraries.


The website of the Parliament of Tasmania,