ID 0295

Government of the Northern Territory beginning 27 November 2007 - period in office of Premier Henderson, Paul Raymond ending on 29 August 2012

Period in office of premier (see Glossary entry for 'period in office' and related terms)

Henderson, Paul Raymond
Date of beginning of period in office
27 November 2007
Date of end of period in office
29 August 2012 
Reason for end of preceding period in office
Change of party leader 
Reason for end of this government
Loss of general election
Number of days in office

Parliamentary support during period

Party affiliation of premier at start of period
Australian Labor Party
If coalition government
Coalition partner 1
Coalition partner 2
Coalition partner 3
Coalition partner 4
Party support in parliament at beginning of period
If change in parliamentary support during period
9 June 2009
Defection by Party Members
If further change during period

Number of ministers at beginning of period (this may vary during the period)

Total number of ministers
Number from party of premier
Number from coalition party 1
Number from coalition party 2
Number from upper house
Number who are women

Assembly elections contested as premier or after which became premier (see Glossary entry for 'after election')

* to view table drag left or right.
Election Premier at election Premier's party Premier after election Premier's party
NT 25 August 2012Paul Raymond HendersonAustralian Labor PartyTerrance Kennedy (Terry) MillsCountry Liberal Party
NT 9 August 2008Paul Raymond HendersonAustralian Labor PartyPaul Raymond HendersonAustralian Labor Party

Previous period in this series for NT | Next period in this series for NT


Change of party leader: Beginning of Henderson's period in office: Martin, who had won office as Chief Minister of a majority Australian Labor Party government after the Legislative Assembly election of 2001 and increased her majority at the 2005 election, resigned as Chief Minister on 27 November 2007 after dissatisfaction with her leadership within the Labor caucus and the selection of Henderson as party leader on 26 November.

Change in parliamentary support: In June 2009, the Henderson government lost its majority in the Legislative Assembly when Marion Scrymgour resigned from the Australian Labor Party over a matter of public policy. The government remained in office as a minority government with the support of Scrymgour on matters of confidence. In August 2009, another member of the Labor caucus, Alison Anderson, resigned from the party, again threatening the continuation of the Henderson government. The minority government continued with the support of Marion Scrymgour who had rejoined the Labor Party, and the Independent member, Gerry Wood. For a survey of these developments, see Mickey Dewar, 'Northern Territory', Australian Journal of Politics and History, Australian Political Chronicle, 56 (2) June 2010: 321-327 at pp. 321-324.