ID 0281

State Government of New South Wales beginning 18 December 1877 - period in office of Premier Farnell, James Squire ending on 21 December 1878

Period in office of premier (see Glossary entry for 'period in office' and related terms)

Farnell, James Squire
Date of beginning of period in office
18 December 1877
Date of end of period in office
21 December 1878 
Reason for end of preceding period in office
Loss of general election 
Reason for end of this government
Defeat in parliament (see note)
Number of days in office

Parliamentary support during period

Party affiliation of premier at start of period
Support from parliamentary factions and independents
If coalition government
Coalition partner 1
Coalition partner 2
Coalition partner 3
Coalition partner 4
Party support in parliament at beginning of period
If change in parliamentary support during period
If further change during period

Number of ministers at beginning of period (this may vary during the period)

Total number of ministers
Number from party of premier
Number from coalition party 1
Number from coalition party 2
Number from upper house
Number who are women

Assembly elections contested as premier or after which became premier (see Glossary entry for 'after election')

* to view table drag left or right.
Election Premier at election Premier's party Premier after election Premier's party
NSW 24 October 1877John RobertsonSupport from parliamentary factions and independentsJames Squire FarnellSupport from parliamentary factions and independents

Previous period in this series for NSW | Next period in this series for NSW


Loss of election (Robertson): Beginning of Farnell's period in office; Robertson 'Obtained dissolution after defeat in Legislative Assembly. Election result uncertain. Resigned following defeat on censure motion when Legislative Assembly met after election', see Clune and Turner, vol. 1 table 3, pp. 228-229 (see 'Sources', below). Farnell was then commissioned to form a government.

Defeat in parliament (Farnell): Farnell 'Resigned after defeat in Legislative Assembly', see Clune and Turner, vol. 1 table 3, pp. 228-229 (see 'Sources', below).

References: For a description and analysis of the style of parliamentary government in this period, see David Clune and Ken Turner, 'Introduction: The Colonial Premiers', pp. 1-12, in Clune and Turner vol. 1 (see, 'Sources', below), and Peter Loveday and A W Martin, Parliament, Factions and Parties: The First Thirty Years of Responsible Government in New South Wales, 1856-1889, (Melbourne: Melbourne University Press, 1966).

For a survey of Farnell's political career, see Frank Bongiorno, 'James Squire Farnell', in Clune and Turner, vol. 1, pp. 139-151 (see 'Sources', below), and V W E Goodin, 'Farnell, James Squire (1825-1888)', in Douglas Pike (general editor), Australian Dictionary of Biography, vol. 4, pp. 154-155, (Melbourne: Melbourne University Press, 1972, ISBN 0522840345).


David Clune and Ken Turner (editors), The Premiers of New South Wales, vol. 1, (1856-1901), (Sydney: Federation Press, 2006, ISBN 186287550); G N Hawker, The Parliament of New South Wales 1856-1965, appendix C, (Ultimo, NSW: Government Printer, 1971); New South Wales, Parliament, The New South Wales Parliamentary Record: Legislative Council and Legislative Assembly, 1824-1999, vol. VI, pp. 246-308, (Sydney: Parliament of New South Wales, 1999). In consulting these sources, note the difference between ministries and periods in office.