ID 0276

State Government of New South Wales beginning 16 December 1870 - period in office of Premier Martin, James ending on 14 May 1872

Period in office of premier (see Glossary entry for 'period in office' and related terms)

Martin, James
Date of beginning of period in office
16 December 1870
Date of end of period in office
14 May 1872 
Reason for end of preceding period in office
Defeat in parliament (see note) 
Reason for end of this government
Loss of general election
Number of days in office

Parliamentary support during period

Party affiliation of premier at start of period
Support from parliamentary factions and independents
If coalition government
Coalition partner 1
Coalition partner 2
Coalition partner 3
Coalition partner 4
Party support in parliament at beginning of period
If change in parliamentary support during period
If further change during period

Number of ministers at beginning of period (this may vary during the period)

Total number of ministers
Number from party of premier
Number from coalition party 1
Number from coalition party 2
Number from upper house
Number who are women

Assembly elections contested as premier or after which became premier (see Glossary entry for 'after election')

* to view table drag left or right.
Election Premier at election Premier's party Premier after election Premier's party
NSW 22 November 1864James MartinSupport from parliamentary factions and independentsCharles CowperSupport from parliamentary factions and independents

Previous period in this series for NSW | Next period in this series for NSW


Defeat in parliament (Cowper): Beginning of Martin's third period in office; Cowper 'Resigned after defeat in Legislative Assembly', see Clune and Turner, vol. 1 table 3, pp. 228-229 (see 'Sources', below). Martin was then commissioned to form a government.

Loss of election (Martin): Martin 'Obtained dissolution after defeat on censure motion in Legislative Assembly. Defeated at election', see Clune and Turner, vol. 1 table 3, pp. 228-229 (see 'Sources', below).

References: For a description and analysis of the style of parliamentary government in this period, see David Clune and Ken Turner, 'Introduction: The Colonial Premiers', pp. 1-12, in Clune and Turner vol. 1 (see, 'Sources', below), and Peter Loveday and A W Martin, Parliament, Factions and Parties: The First Thirty Years of Responsible Government in New South Wales, 1856-1889, (Melbourne: Melbourne University Press, 1966).

For a survey of Martin's political career, see J M Bennett, 'James (later Sir James) Martin', in Clune and Turner, vol. 1, pp. 103-119 (see 'Sources', below), and Bede Nairn, 'Martin, Sir James (1820-1886)', in Douglas Pike (general editor), Australian Dictionary of Biography, vol. 5, pp. 397-398, (Melbourne: Melbourne University Press, 1974, ISBN 522840612).


David Clune and Ken Turner (editors), The Premiers of New South Wales, vol. 1, (1856-1901), (Sydney: Federation Press, 2006, ISBN 186287550); G N Hawker, The Parliament of New South Wales 1856-1965, appendix C, (Ultimo, NSW: Government Printer, 1971); New South Wales, Parliament, The New South Wales Parliamentary Record: Legislative Council and Legislative Assembly, 1824-1999, vol. VI, pp. 246-308, (Sydney: Parliament of New South Wales, 1999). In consulting these sources, note the difference between ministries and periods in office.