ID 0263

State Government of New South Wales beginning 17 January 1889 - period in office of Premier Dibbs, George Richard ending on 8 March 1889

Period in office of premier (see Glossary entry for 'period in office' and related terms)

Dibbs, George Richard
Date of beginning of period in office
17 January 1889
Date of end of period in office
8 March 1889 
Reason for end of preceding period in office
Resignation of premier (see note) 
Reason for end of this government
Loss of general election
Number of days in office

Parliamentary support during period

Party affiliation of premier at start of period
Protectionist Party
If coalition government
Coalition partner 1
Coalition partner 2
Coalition partner 3
Coalition partner 4
Party support in parliament at beginning of period
If change in parliamentary support during period
If further change during period

Number of ministers at beginning of period (this may vary during the period)

Total number of ministers
Number from party of premier
Number from coalition party 1
Number from coalition party 2
Number from upper house
Number who are women

Assembly elections contested as premier or after which became premier (see Glossary entry for 'after election')

* to view table drag left or right.
Election Premier at election Premier's party Premier after election Premier's party
NSW 16 October 1885George Richard DibbsSupport from parliamentary factions and independentsJohn RobertsonSupport from parliamentary factions and independents

Previous period in this series for NSW | Next period in this series for NSW


Resignation of premier (Parkes): Beginning of Dibbs's second period in office; Parkes resigned; 'Government defeated in snap vote in Legislative Assembly. Chose to resign although still possessing a majority', see Clune and Turner, vol. 1 table 3, pp. 228-229 (see 'Sources', below). Dibbs was then commissioned to form a government.

Loss of election (Dibbs): On forming a government, Dibbs; 'Immediately defeated in Legislative Assembly. Obtained dissolution and defeated at election', see Clune and Turner, vol. 1 table 3, pp. 228-229 (see 'Sources', below).

References: For a description and analysis of the style of parliamentary government in this period see David Clune and Ken Turner, 'Introduction: The Colonial Premiers', pp. 1-12, in Clune and Turner vol. 1 (see, 'Sources', below) and Peter Loveday and A W Martin, Parliament, Factions and Parties: The First Thirty Years of Responsible Government in New South Wales, 1856-1889, (Melbourne: Melbourne University Press, 1966); for the emergence of parties in New South Wales, note also P Loveday, A W Martin and Patrick Weller, 'New South Wales', in P Loveday, A W Martin and R S Parker, (editors), The Emergence of the Australian Party System, pp. 172-248, (Sydney: Hale and Iremonger, 1977 ISBN 0908094035).

For a survey of Dibbs's political career, see T W Campbell, 'George (later Sir George) Richard Dibbs', in Clune and Turner, vol. 1, pp. 169-177 (see 'Sources', below), and Bruce E Mansfield, 'Dibbs, Sir George Richard (1834-1904)', in Douglas Pike (general editor), Australian Dictionary of Biography, vol. 4, pp. 65-69, (Melbourne: Melbourne University Press, 1972, ISBN 0522840345).


David Clune and Ken Turner (editors), The Premiers of New South Wales, vol. 1, (1856-1901), (Sydney: Federation Press, 2006, ISBN 186287550); G N Hawker, The Parliament of New South Wales 1856-1965, appendix C, (Ultimo, NSW: Government Printer, 1971); New South Wales, Parliament, The New South Wales Parliamentary Record: Legislative Council and Legislative Assembly, 1824-1999, vol. VI, pp. 246-308, (Sydney: Parliament of New South Wales, 1999). In consulting these sources, note the difference between ministries and periods in office.