ID 0257

Government of the Northern Territory beginning 18 August 2001 - period in office of Premier Martin, Clare Majella ending on 27 November 2007

Period in office of premier (see Glossary entry for 'period in office' and related terms)

Martin, Clare Majella
Date of beginning of period in office
18 August 2001
Date of end of period in office
27 November 2007 
Reason for end of preceding period in office
Loss of general election 
Reason for end of this government
Change of party leader
Number of days in office

Parliamentary support during period

Party affiliation of premier at start of period
Australian Labor Party
If coalition government
Coalition partner 1
Coalition partner 2
Coalition partner 3
Coalition partner 4
Party support in parliament at beginning of period
If change in parliamentary support during period
If further change during period

Number of ministers at beginning of period (this may vary during the period)

Total number of ministers
Number from party of premier
Number from coalition party 1
Number from coalition party 2
Number from upper house
Number who are women

Assembly elections contested as premier or after which became premier (see Glossary entry for 'after election')

* to view table drag left or right.
Election Premier at election Premier's party Premier after election Premier's party
NT 18 June 2005Clare Majella MartinAustralian Labor PartyClare Majella MartinAustralian Labor Party
NT 18 August 2001Denis Gabriel BurkeCountry Liberal PartyClare Majella MartinAustralian Labor Party

Previous period in this series for NT | Next period in this series for NT


Change of party leader: Martin, who had won office as Chief Minister of a majority Australian Labor Party government after the Legislative Assembly election of 2001 and increased her majority at the 2005 election, resigned as Chief Minister on 27 November 2007 after dissatisfaction with her leadership within the Labor caucus and the selection of Henderson as party leader on 26 November.