ID 0232

State Government of Western Australia beginning 31 July 1945 - period in office of Premier Wise, Frank Joseph Scott ending on 1 April 1947

Period in office of premier (see Glossary entry for 'period in office' and related terms)

Wise, Frank Joseph Scott
Date of beginning of period in office
31 July 1945
Date of end of period in office
1 April 1947 
Reason for end of preceding period in office
Change of party leader 
Reason for end of this government
Loss of general election
Number of days in office

Parliamentary support during period

Party affiliation of premier at start of period
Australian Labor Party
If coalition government
Coalition partner 1
Coalition partner 2
Coalition partner 3
Coalition partner 4
Party support in parliament at beginning of period
If change in parliamentary support during period
If further change during period

Number of ministers at beginning of period (this may vary during the period)

Total number of ministers
Number from party of premier
Number from coalition party 1
Number from coalition party 2
Number from upper house
Number who are women

Assembly elections contested as premier or after which became premier (see Glossary entry for 'after election')

* to view table drag left or right.
Election Premier at election Premier's party Premier after election Premier's party
WA 15 March 1947Frank Joseph Scott WiseAustralian Labor PartyDuncan Ross McLartyLiberal Party

Previous period in this series for WA | Next period in this series for WA


Change of party leader: Beginning of Wise's period in office: 'Willcock resigned as party leader on 31 July 1945 on grounds of ill-health. Caucus elected Wise leader and filled the vacancy in the ministry', Hughes and Graham, p. 234 (see 'Sources', below).

Loss of general election: 'Following the election on 15 March 1947 there was a possible deadlock in the Legislative Assembly. ... On 28 March it was confirmed that the two Opposition parties would have an absolute majority [when supported by at least one of the two Independent members], and on 1 April Wise resigned and the Governor sent for McLarty', Hughes and Graham, p. 235 (see 'Sources', below).

References: For a study of the style of parliamentary politics at the time, see David Black, 'Factionalism and Stability, 1911-1947', in David Black (editor), The House on the Hill: A History of the Parliament of Western Australia 1832-1990, pp 97-151, (Perth: Western Australian Parliamentary History Project, Parliament of Western Australia, 1991, ISBN 0730939839).

Note also, R F Pervan, 'Cabinet and Caucus: Labor in Western Australia, 1933-1947', University Studies in History, [University of Western Australia], 5(1) 1967: 1-37.

Summary information on Western Australian premiers from 1890 to 1982 and a short essay, 'The Premiers -- An Introductory Comment', can be found in Reid and Oliver (see 'Sources', below).


Colin A Hughes and B D Graham, A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics 1890-1964, (Canberra: Australian National University Press, 1968, SBN 708102700); John Mandy and David Black (editors),The Western Australian Parliamentary Handbook Centenary Edition, (Perth: Parliamentary History Project, Parliament of Western Australia, 1990, ISBN 0731697847); G S Reid and M R Oliver, The Premiers of Western Australia 1890-1982, (Perth: University of Western Australia Press, 1982, ISBN 0855642149).