ID 0229

State Government of Western Australia beginning 23 April 1930 - period in office of Premier Mitchell, James ending on 24 April 1933

Period in office of premier (see Glossary entry for 'period in office' and related terms)

Mitchell, James
Date of beginning of period in office
23 April 1930
Date of end of period in office
24 April 1933 
Reason for end of preceding period in office
Loss of general election 
Reason for end of this government
Loss of general election
Number of days in office

Parliamentary support during period

Party affiliation of premier at start of period
Nationalist Party
If coalition government
Coalition partner 1
Country Party
Coalition partner 2
Coalition partner 3
Coalition partner 4
Party support in parliament at beginning of period
If change in parliamentary support during period
If further change during period

Number of ministers at beginning of period (this may vary during the period)

Total number of ministers
Number from party of premier
Number from coalition party 1
Number from coalition party 2
Number from upper house
Number who are women

Assembly elections contested as premier or after which became premier (see Glossary entry for 'after election')

* to view table drag left or right.
Election Premier at election Premier's party Premier after election Premier's party
WA 12 April 1930Philip CollierAustralian Labor PartyJames MitchellNationalist Party
WA 22 March 1924James MitchellNationalist Coalition (see notes)Philip CollierAustralian Labor Party
WA 12 March 1921James MitchellNationalist Coalition (see notes)James MitchellNationalist Coalition (see notes)

Previous period in this series for WA | Next period in this series for WA


Loss of general election (Collier): Beginning of Mitchell's second period in office: 'Following the election on 12 April Collier remained in office while the Nationalist and Country parties agreed on their cabinet representation. ... It was finally agreed that each party should have four salaried Ministers, and the Nationalists a further honorary Minister. The Country Party elected their four Ministers, but Mitchell distributed portfolios. On 22 Mitchell was re-elected leader at a Nationalist party meeting and on 23 April Collier resigned and Mitchell was commissioned', Hughes and Graham, p. 232 (see 'Sources', below). Mitchell became Premier of a Nationalist Party and Country Party coalition government.

Loss of general election (Mitchell): 'The Mitchell coalition government was defeated at the election on 8 April 1933. The Labor caucus met on 19 April, re-elected Collier leader, and then chose the eight salaried Ministers and the one honorary Minister. The Ministers met on 21 April and agreed upon the distribution of portfolios among themselves. Mitchell resigned on 24 April and Collier was sent for', Hughes and Graham, p. 233 (see 'Sources', below). Mitchell had been defeated in his own seat of Northam at the 1933 election, the only Premier of Western Australia to have lost his seat at a general election.

References: For a study of the style of parliamentary politics at the time, see David Black, 'Factionalism and Stability, 1911-1947', in David Black (editor), The House on the Hill: A History of the Parliament of Western Australia 1832-1990, pp 97-151, (Perth: Western Australian Parliamentary History Project, Parliament of Western Australia, 1991, ISBN 0730939839).

Summary information on Western Australian premiers from 1890 to 1982 and a short essay, 'The Premiers -- An Introductory Comment', can be found in Reid and Oliver (see 'Sources', below).

For a survey of Mitchell's career, see G. C. Bolton , 'Mitchell, Sir James (1866 - 1951)', Australian Dictionary of Biography, Volume 10, pp 530-532, (Melbourne: Melbourne University Press, 1986), on line at:


Colin A Hughes and B D Graham, A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics 1890-1964, (Canberra: Australian National University Press, 1968, SBN 708102700); John Mandy and David Black (editors),The Western Australian Parliamentary Handbook Centenary Edition, (Perth: Parliamentary History Project, Parliament of Western Australia, 1990, ISBN 0731697847); G S Reid and M R Oliver, The Premiers of Western Australia 1890-1982, (Perth: University of Western Australia Press, 1982, ISBN 0855642149).