ID 0146

State Government of Tasmania beginning 6 April 1914 - period in office of Premier Earle, John ending on 15 April 1916

Period in office of premier (see Glossary entry for 'period in office' and related terms)

Earle, John
Date of beginning of period in office
6 April 1914
Date of end of period in office
15 April 1916 
Reason for end of preceding period in office
Defeat in parliament 
Reason for end of this government
Loss of general election
Number of days in office

Parliamentary support during period

Party affiliation of premier at start of period
Australian Labor Party
If coalition government
Coalition partner 1
Coalition partner 2
Coalition partner 3
Coalition partner 4
Party support in parliament at beginning of period
If change in parliamentary support during period
If further change during period

Number of ministers at beginning of period (this may vary during the period)

Total number of ministers
Number from party of premier
Number from coalition party 1
Number from coalition party 2
Number from upper house
Number who are women

Assembly elections contested as premier or after which became premier (see Glossary entry for 'after election')

* to view table drag left or right.
Election Premier at election Premier's party Premier after election Premier's party
TAS 25 March 1916John EarleAustralian Labor PartyWalter Henry LeeLiberal Party

Previous period in this series for TAS | Next period in this series for TAS


Defeat in parliament: Beginning of Earle's second period in office: 'Labor won the Denison by-election in January 1914, and thereafter the House was equally divided 15-15. Evans, the Liberal Speaker, resigned in March and the Labor Party supplied a new Speaker, Woods. Earle then moved a motion of no confidence which was carried 15-14 on 1 April, the Independent member, Whitsitt [formerly a member of the Liberal Party], now voting with Labor. Solomon sought a dissolution which was refused and then resigned on 3 April', Hughes and Graham, p. 257 (see 'Sources', below). Earle was then commissioned as premier.

Loss of election: 'The Earle Government lost one seat to the Liberals at the March 1916 election. Earle immediately indicated that he would resign; the Liberal parliamentary party met on 10 April and confirmed Lee as its leader; Earle then resigned...', Hughes and Graham, p. 257 (see 'Sources', below).

References: For a description of the style of parliamentary government in this period, see John Reynolds, 'Premiers and Political Leaders', in F C Green (editor), Tasmania: A Century of Responsible Government 1856-1956, pp 208-215, (Hobart: L G Shea, Government Printer, [1956]), and note Terry Newman, Tasmanian Premiers 1856-1988: A Biographical Handbook, (Hobart: Tasmanian Parliamentary Library, [1988]), and note, R P Davis, 'Tasmania', in D J Murphy (editor), Labor in Politics: The State Labor Parties in Australia 1880-1920, pp 389-445, (St. Lucia, Qld: University of Queensland Press, 1975, ISBN 0702209392). For a survey of Labor Party politics in this period, see Richard Davis, Eighty Years' Labor: The ALP in Tasmania, 1903-1983, pp 8-12 (Hobart: Sassafras Books and the History Department, University of Tasmania, 1983, ISBN 0859012212).

For a survey of Earle's career, see Marilyn Lake, 'Earle, John (1865 - 1932)', Australian Dictionary of Biography, Volume 8, pp 401-402 (Melbourne: Melbourne University Press, 1981), on line at:


'Ministries: Names of the Members of Successive Ministries which have held Office in Tasmania since the inauguration of Responsible Government, together with the Dates of Appointment and Retirement', Journal of House of Assembly, Second Session of the Forty-Fifth Parliament of Tasmania, Anno LIII and LV Eliz II; Session 2 of the 45th Parliament, Volume 251, 2004-2006, (Hobart: Government Printer, Tasmania); Colin A Hughes and B D Graham, A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics 1890-1964, (Canberra: Australian National University Press, 1968, SBN 708102700), and the website of the Parliament of Tasmania,