ID 0120

State Government of South Australia beginning 28 August 1926 - period in office of Premier Hill, Lionel Laughton ending on 8 April 1927

Period in office of premier (see Glossary entry for 'period in office' and related terms)

Hill, Lionel Laughton
Date of beginning of period in office
28 August 1926
Date of end of period in office
8 April 1927 
Reason for end of preceding period in office
Change of party leader 
Reason for end of this government
Loss of general election
Number of days in office

Parliamentary support during period

Party affiliation of premier at start of period
Australian Labor Party
If coalition government
Coalition partner 1
Coalition partner 2
Coalition partner 3
Coalition partner 4
Party support in parliament at beginning of period
If change in parliamentary support during period
If further change during period

Number of ministers at beginning of period (this may vary during the period)

Total number of ministers
Number from party of premier
Number from coalition party 1
Number from coalition party 2
Number from upper house
Number who are women

Assembly elections contested as premier or after which became premier (see Glossary entry for 'after election')

* to view table drag left or right.
Election Premier at election Premier's party Premier after election Premier's party
SA 5 April 1930Richard Layton Butler [jnr]Liberal PartyLionel Laughton HillAustralian Labor Party
SA 26 March 1927Lionel Laughton HillAustralian Labor PartyRichard Layton Butler [jnr]Liberal Party

Previous period in this series for SA | Next period in this series for SA


Hughes and Graham, (1968) A Handbook of Ausralian Government and Politics 1890-1964.