ID 0118

State Government of South Australia beginning 8 April 1920 - period in office of Premier Barwell, Henry Newman ending on 16 April 1924

Period in office of premier (see Glossary entry for 'period in office' and related terms)

Barwell, Henry Newman
Date of beginning of period in office
8 April 1920
Date of end of period in office
16 April 1924 
Reason for end of preceding period in office
Change of party leader 
Reason for end of this government
Loss of general election
Number of days in office

Parliamentary support during period

Party affiliation of premier at start of period
Liberal Party
If coalition government
Coalition partner 1
Coalition partner 2
Coalition partner 3
Coalition partner 4
Party support in parliament at beginning of period
If change in parliamentary support during period
If further change during period

Number of ministers at beginning of period (this may vary during the period)

Total number of ministers
Number from party of premier
Number from coalition party 1
Number from coalition party 2
Number from upper house
Number who are women

Assembly elections contested as premier or after which became premier (see Glossary entry for 'after election')

* to view table drag left or right.
Election Premier at election Premier's party Premier after election Premier's party
SA 5 April 1924Henry Newman BarwellLiberal PartyJohn GunnAustralian Labor Party
SA 9 April 1921Henry Newman BarwellLiberal PartyHenry Newman BarwellLiberal Party

Previous period in this series for SA | Next period in this series for SA


Hughes and Graham, (1968) A Handbook of Ausralian Government and Politics 1890-1964.