ID 0323

Government of the Australian Capital Territory beginning 16 May 2011 - period in office of Premier Gallagher, Katy ending on 6 November 2012

Period in office of premier (see Glossary entry for 'period in office' and related terms)

Gallagher, Katy
Date of beginning of period in office
16 May 2011
Date of end of period in office
6 November 2012 
Reason for end of preceding period in office
Change of party leader 
Reason for end of this government
Change of partisan support for premier/PM (see notes)
Number of days in office

Parliamentary support during period

Party affiliation of premier at start of period
Australian Labor Party
If coalition government
Coalition partner 1
Coalition partner 2
Coalition partner 3
Coalition partner 4
Party support in parliament at beginning of period
If change in parliamentary support during period
If further change during period

Number of ministers at beginning of period (this may vary during the period)

Total number of ministers
Number from party of premier
Number from coalition party 1
Number from coalition party 2
Number from upper house
Number who are women

Assembly elections contested as premier or after which became premier (see Glossary entry for 'after election')

* to view table drag left or right.
Election Premier at election Premier's party Premier after election Premier's party
ACT 20 October 2012Katy GallagherAustralian Labor PartyKaty GallagherAustralian Labor Party

Previous period in this series for ACT | Next period in this series for ACT


Change of party leader (Stanhope):  Beginning of Galagher's first period in office; Chief Minister Stanhope resigned from office and supported his deputy, Gallagher, in her contest for the leadership of the parliamentary Labor Party. Gallagher was chosen as leader by caucus unopposed and was elected by the Legislative Assembly on 16 May 2011 to be Chief Minister of an Australian Labor Party minority government supported by a parliamentary agreement with the ACT Greens.

For details of this transition, see Scott Brenton, 'Australian Capital Territory', Australian Journal of Politics and History, Australian Political Chronicle, 57 (4) December 2011: 661-666.

Change of partisan support for Premier:  Beginning of Gallagher's second period in office as Chief Minister; At the election for the ACT Legislative Assembly on 20 October 2012, both the Australian Labor Party and the Liberal Party won eight seats in the 17 seat Assembly.  The ACT Greens, who had supported the previous Australian Labor Party minority government under Chief Minister Gallagher, lost three of their four seats with Shane Rattenbury as their sole representative.  After a period of negotiation betwee the ACT Greens and both the Labor and Liberal parties, the ACT Greens agreed to join the Labor Party in a coalition government, a commitment the ACT Greens had not previously been willing to make.

A formal agreement was made between the Labor Party and the ACT Greens on 2 November 2012 covering a range of policy commitments for the new government and Rattenbury joined the Gallagher ministry as a minister in an Australian Labor Party and ACT Greens coalition government.  Gallagher was elected as Chief Minister in the Legislative Assembly on 6 November and a list of ministers and their responsibilities was issued on 9 November 2012.