ID 0319

Commonwealth Government of Australia beginning 24 June 2010 - period in office of Prime minister Gillard, Julia Eileen ending on 27 June 2013

Period in office of prime minister (see Glossary entry for 'period in office' and related terms)

Prime minister
Gillard, Julia Eileen
Date of beginning of period in office
24 June 2010
Date of end of period in office
27 June 2013 
Reason for end of preceding period in office
Change of party leader 
Reason for end of this government
Change of party leader
Number of days in office

Parliamentary support during period

Party affiliation of prime minister at start of period
Australian Labor Party
If coalition government
Coalition partner 1
Coalition partner 2
Coalition partner 3
Coalition partner 4
Party support in parliament at beginning of period
If change in parliamentary support during period
21 August 2010
Result of general election
If further change during period

Number of ministers at beginning of period (this may vary during the period)

Total number of ministers
Number from party of prime minister
Number from coalition party 1
Number from coalition party 2
Number from upper house
Number who are women

House of Representatives elections contested as prime minister or after which became prime minister (see Glossary entry for 'after election')

* to view table drag left or right.
Election Prime minister at election Prime minister's party Prime minister after election Prime minister's party
COM 21 August 2010Julia Eileen GillardAustralian Labor PartyJulia Eileen GillardAustralian Labor Party

Previous period in this series for COM | Next period in this series for COM


Change of party leader: Beginning of Gillard`s period in office. For commentary on the political context of this change of party leader, see Paul Kelly, 'Internal polling tipped Gillard over line', The Australian:, Friday 30 June 2010, online at:

Change in parliamentary support At the general election for the House of Representatives held on 21 August 2010, the Gillard Australian Labor Party government lost its majority in the 150 member House, retaining only 72 seats. The Liberal Party and National Party opposition and related parties secured 73 seats. After two weeks for the completion of counting in closely contested seats, and negotiations with the five minor party and independent members elected to the House, all but one of these members chose to support a minority Labor Party government under Prime Minister Gillard.

Support for the Gillard Labor Party minority government came from Adam Brandt, a member of the Australian Greens elected from the electoral district of Melbourne, and Independents Andrew Wilkie (Denison), Robert Oakeshott (Lyne), and Tony Windsor (New England). The remaining independent, Bob Katter (Kennedy) declined to support the Labor Party government. The new Gillard Australian Labor Party minority government was sworn in on 14 September 2010

Change of party leader: At a meeting held on 26 June 2013, the Parliamentary Labor Party voted to depose Gillard as leader of the Australian Labor Party and replace her with Rudd. There had been dissention in the caucus over the party leadership and increasing concern with falling support for the Labor government in the electorate.