ID 0303

State Government of Tasmania beginning 1 November 1860 - period in office of Premier Weston, William Pritchard ending on 2 August 1861

Period in office of premier (see Glossary entry for 'period in office' and related terms)

Weston, William Pritchard
Date of beginning of period in office
1 November 1860
Date of end of period in office
2 August 1861 
Reason for end of preceding period in office
Resignation of premier (see note) 
Reason for end of this government
Resignation of premier (see note)
Number of days in office

Parliamentary support during period

Party affiliation of premier at start of period
Support from parliamentary factions and independents
If coalition government
Coalition partner 1
Coalition partner 2
Coalition partner 3
Coalition partner 4
Party support in parliament at beginning of period
If change in parliamentary support during period
If further change during period

Number of ministers at beginning of period (this may vary during the period)

Total number of ministers
Number from party of premier
Number from coalition party 1
Number from coalition party 2
Number from upper house
Number who are women

Assembly elections contested as premier or after which became premier (see Glossary entry for 'after election')

* to view table drag left or right.
Election Premier at election Premier's party Premier after election Premier's party
TAS 29 May 1861William Pritchard WestonSupport from parliamentary factions and independentsThomas Daniel ChapmanSupport from parliamentary factions and independents

Previous period in this series for TAS | Next period in this series for TAS


Resignation of premier (Smith): Beginning of Weston's second period in office: Smith resigned as Premier in November 1860 and accepted a position as a judge of the Tasmanian Supreme Court, leaving Weston to lead 'another stop-gap government', Reynolds, p. 119, (see 'References', below).

Premier in upper house: Weston accepted his second commission as Premier while a member of the Legislative Council. He was the first of several Tasmanian premiers to hold the office while a member of the Legislative Council. Weston had been a member of the House of Assembly during his first period in office as Premier but resigned from the Assembly in May 1857 and was elected unopposed to the Legislative Council in the same month. The Colonial Treasurer, Frederick Maitland Innes led for the government in the House of Assembly.

Resignation of premier (Weston): 'Weston's ill health .... caused him to resign and move to Victoria', Newman, p. 13, (see 'References', below).

References: For a description of the style of parliamentary government in this period, see John Reynolds, 'Premiers and Political Leaders', in F C Green (editor), Tasmania: A Century of Responsible Government 1856-1956, pp 115-192, (Hobart: L G Shea, Government Printer, [1956]), and note Terry Newman, Tasmanian Premiers 1856-1988: A Biographical Handbook, (Hobart: Tasmanian Parliamentary Library, [1988]).

For a survey of Weston's career, see J N D Harrison, 'Weston, William Pritchard (1804-1888)', Australian Dictionary of Biography, Volume 2, pp 593-594, (Melbourne: Melbourne University Press, 1967), on line at:


'Ministries: Names of the Members of Successive Ministries which have held Office in Tasmania since the inauguration of Responsible Government, together with the Dates of Appointment and Retirement', Journal of House of Assembly, Second Session of the Forty-Fifth Parliament of Tasmania, Anno LIII and LV Eliz II; Session 2 of the 45th Parliament, Volume 251, 2004-2006, (Hobart: Government Printer, Tasmania).