ID 0132

State Government of South Australia beginning 6 November 1982 - period in office of Premier Bannon, John Charles ending on 4 September 1992

Period in office of premier (see Glossary entry for 'period in office' and related terms)

Bannon, John Charles
Date of beginning of period in office
6 November 1982
Date of end of period in office
4 September 1992 
Reason for end of preceding period in office
Loss of general election 
Reason for end of this government
Change of party leader
Number of days in office

Parliamentary support during period

Party affiliation of premier at start of period
Australian Labor Party
If coalition government
Coalition partner 1
Coalition partner 2
Coalition partner 3
Coalition partner 4
Party support in parliament at beginning of period
If change in parliamentary support during period
25 November 1989
Result of general election
If further change during period

Number of ministers at beginning of period (this may vary during the period)

Total number of ministers
Number from party of premier
Number from coalition party 1
Number from coalition party 2
Number from upper house
Number who are women

Assembly elections contested as premier or after which became premier (see Glossary entry for 'after election')

* to view table drag left or right.
Election Premier at election Premier's party Premier after election Premier's party
SA 25 November 1989John Charles BannonAustralian Labor PartyJohn Charles BannonAustralian Labor Party
SA 7 December 1985John Charles BannonAustralian Labor PartyJohn Charles BannonAustralian Labor Party
SA 6 November 1982David Oliver TonkinLiberal PartyJohn Charles BannonAustralian Labor Party

Previous period in this series for SA | Next period in this series for SA


Colin A Hughes, A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics 1975-1984, Rushcutters Bay, NSW: Australian National University Press, 1986 (ISBN 0 08 033038 X).

There are small discrepancies in calculating the total valid vote given by Hughes (1986), and differences between these figures and those given by Jaensch (1986).