ID 0112

State Government of South Australia beginning 5 June 1909 - period in office of Premier Peake, Archibald Henry ending on 3 June 1910

Period in office of premier (see Glossary entry for 'period in office' and related terms)

Peake, Archibald Henry
Date of beginning of period in office
5 June 1909
Date of end of period in office
3 June 1910 
Reason for end of preceding period in office
Defeat in parliament 
Reason for end of this government
Defeat in parliament
Number of days in office

Parliamentary support during period

Party affiliation of premier at start of period
Liberal Union
If coalition government
Coalition partner 1
Coalition partner 2
Coalition partner 3
Coalition partner 4
Party support in parliament at beginning of period
If change in parliamentary support during period
22 December 1909
Gain in parliamentary support
If further change during period

Number of ministers at beginning of period (this may vary during the period)

Total number of ministers
Number from party of premier
Number from coalition party 1
Number from coalition party 2
Number from upper house
Number who are women

Assembly elections contested as premier or after which became premier (see Glossary entry for 'after election')

* to view table drag left or right.
Election Premier at election Premier's party Premier after election Premier's party
SA 6 April 1918Archibald Henry PeakeLiberal - National CoalitionArchibald Henry PeakeLiberal - National Coalition
SA 10 February 1912John VerranAustralian Labor PartyArchibald Henry PeakeLiberal Union
SA 2 April 1910Archibald Henry PeakeLiberal UnionJohn VerranAustralian Labor Party

Previous period in this series for SA | Next period in this series for SA


Hughes and Graham, (1968) A Handbook of Ausralian Government and Politics 1890-1964.