ID 0131

State Government of South Australia beginning 18 September 1979 - period in office of Premier Tonkin, David Oliver ending on 6 November 1982

Period in office of premier (see Glossary entry for 'period in office' and related terms)

Tonkin, David Oliver
Date of beginning of period in office
18 September 1979
Date of end of period in office
6 November 1982 
Reason for end of preceding period in office
Loss of general election 
Reason for end of this government
Loss of general election
Number of days in office

Parliamentary support during period

Party affiliation of premier at start of period
Liberal Party
If coalition government
Coalition partner 1
Coalition partner 2
Coalition partner 3
Coalition partner 4
Party support in parliament at beginning of period
If change in parliamentary support during period
If further change during period

Number of ministers at beginning of period (this may vary during the period)

Total number of ministers
Number from party of premier
Number from coalition party 1
Number from coalition party 2
Number from upper house
Number who are women

Assembly elections contested as premier or after which became premier (see Glossary entry for 'after election')

* to view table drag left or right.
Election Premier at election Premier's party Premier after election Premier's party
SA 6 November 1982David Oliver TonkinLiberal PartyJohn Charles BannonAustralian Labor Party
SA 15 September 1979James Desmond CorcoranAustralian Labor PartyDavid Oliver TonkinLiberal Party

Previous period in this series for SA | Next period in this series for SA


Colin A Hughes, A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics 1975-1984, Rushcutters Bay, NSW: Australian National University Press, 1986 (ISBN 0 08 033038 X).

There are small discrepancies in calculating the total valid vote given by Hughes (1986), and differences between these figures and those given by Jaensch (1986).