ID 0386

Parliament of South Australia, House of Assembly election

Election of 9 April 1921

Show full election details

South Australia, House of Assembly votes and seats won

Display Chart

Election held on 9 April 1921
Criteria for the inclusion of parties in this table are set out in the Glossary under 'listed party'

* to view table drag left or right.
Party Name First preference vote n First preference vote share % Change from previous election % Seats won n Uncontested seats held n Seat share %
Australian Labor Party  179,308  44.62  -0.07  16  34.78 
Liberal Party  140,229  34.90  25  54.35 
Progressive Country Party  51,603  12.84  2.17 
Farmers and Settlers Party  16,417  4.09  -0.18  8.70 
Independents  14,288  3.56  -0.28     
Votes for other than listed parties 0 0.00 -1.36       
Totals 401,845  100.00    46  100.00 

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series | Display Chart

* Party did not contest previous election or did not meet criteria for listing, or contested previous election under a different party name.


Electoral districts were divided into 3 member and 2 member districts and the electoral system permitted voters to cast more that one vote. Government in office at election: Barwell replaced Peake as premier of a Liberal government on 8 April 1920.


Colin A Hughes and B D Graham, A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics 1890-1964, (Canberra: Australian National University Press, 1968, SBN 708102700).