ID 0379

Parliament of South Australia, House of Assembly election

Election of 3 May 1902

Show full election details

South Australia, House of Assembly votes and seats won

Display Chart

Election held on 3 May 1902
Criteria for the inclusion of parties in this table are set out in the Glossary under 'listed party'

* to view table drag left or right.
Party Name First preference vote n First preference vote share % Change from previous election % Seats won n Uncontested seats held n Seat share %
Conservative Party  69,275  27.25  -6.45  19  45.24 
Liberal Party  61,664  24.26  +2.28  12  28.57 
Australian Labor Party  48,515  19.09  -6.35  11.90 
Independent Liberal  33,275  13.09  9.52 
Independents  10,542  4.15  +0.79  4.76 
Votes for other than listed parties 30,928 12.17 -3.37       
Totals 254,199  100.00    42  100.00 

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series | Display Chart

* Party did not contest previous election or did not meet criteria for listing, or contested previous election under a different party name.


Electoral districts were divided into 5 member, 4 member, 3 member and 2 member districts and the electoral system permitted voters to cast more that one vote. Government in office at election: After the defeat of the Kingston minority government on the floor of the Assembly on 1 December 1899, the Solomon Conservative minority government was in power until 8 December 1899. It was replaced by the Holder Liberal minority government until 15 May 1901 and was in turn replaced by the Jenkins Liberal Conservative party coaliton minority government.


Colin A Hughes and B D Graham, A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics 1890-1964, (Canberra: Australian National University Press, 1968, SBN 708102700).