ID 0378

Parliament of South Australia, House of Assembly election

Election of 29 April 1899

Show full election details

South Australia, House of Assembly votes and seats won

Display Chart

Election held on 29 April 1899
Criteria for the inclusion of parties in this table are set out in the Glossary under 'listed party'

* to view table drag left or right.
Party Name First preference vote n First preference vote share % Change from previous election % Seats won n Uncontested seats held n Seat share %
Conservative Party  54,010  33.70  +2.56  28  51.85 
Australian Labor Party  40,756  25.43  +1.14  11  20.37 
Liberal Party  35,214  21.97  +1.47  14  25.93 
Independents  5,380  3.36  -2.38  1.85 
Votes for other than listed parties 24,898 15.54 +0.84       
Totals 160,258  100.00    54  100.00 

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series | Display Chart


Electoral districts returned 2 members and the electoral system permitted voters to cast more that one vote. Government after the election: The Kingston minority government continued for seven months after the election until defeated on the floor of the Assembly on 1 December 1899.


Colin A Hughes and B D Graham, A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics 1890-1964, Canberra; Australian National University Press, 1968 (SBN 708102700); slightly different figures are provided by Dean Jaensch, Election Statistics of Colonial South Australia, Bedford Park, SA: Australasian Political Studies Association, APSA monograph No.14, 1974 (ISBN 0959924612).