ID 0375

Parliament of South Australia, House of Assembly election

Election of 9 April 1890

Show full election details

South Australia, House of Assembly votes and seats won

Display Chart

Election held on 9 April 1890
Criteria for the inclusion of parties in this table are set out in the Glossary under 'listed party'

* to view table drag left or right.
Party Name First preference vote n First preference vote share % Change from previous election % Seats won n Uncontested seats held n Seat share %
Independents (No disciplined party groupings)  66,407  100.00  0.00  54  100.00 
Votes for other than listed parties 0 0.00 0.00       
Totals 66,407  100.00    54  100.00 

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series | Display Chart


Polling dates: 9 April (18 seats), 11 April (6 seats), 18 April ( 2 seats), 19 April (6 seats), 23 April (22 seats) Electoral districts: Each district returned 2 members. The electoral system permitted voters to cast more that one vote. Parties: There were no clearly defined parties in 1890. Government: The Cockburn ministerialist minority government was returned at the election but lost office in 19 August 1890 after being defeated in parliament.


Dean Jaensch, Election Statistics of Colonial South Australia, Bedford Park, SA: Australasian Political Studies Association, APSA monograph No.14, 1974 (ISBN 0959924612);