ID 0327

Parliament of New South Wales, Legislative Assembly election

Election of 1 May 1976

Show full election details

New South Wales, Legislative Assembly votes and seats won

Display Chart

Election held on 1 May 1976
Criteria for the inclusion of parties in this table are set out in the Glossary under 'listed party'

* to view table drag left or right.
Party Name First preference vote n First preference vote share % Change from previous election % Seats won n Uncontested seats held n Seat share %
Australian Labor Party  1,342,038  49.75  +6.82  50  50.51 
Liberal Party  978,886  36.29  +2.44  30  30.30 
Country Party  270,603  10.03  -0.45  18  18.18 
Independents  78,290  2.90  +0.36  1.01 
Australia Party  7,407  0.27  -3.93     
Communist Party  2,220  0.08     
Votes for other than listed parties 18,085 0.67 +0.64       
Totals 2,697,529  100.00    99  100.00 

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series | Display Chart

* Party did not contest previous election or did not meet criteria for listing, or contested previous election under a different party name.


Premier in office at election: There had been two changes of premier since the previous election; Premier Askin announced his retirement in December 1975 and his replacement, Lewis, was commissioned as Premier of a Liberal Party and National Party coalition government on 3 January 1976. Lewis lost the confidence of his parliamentary colleagues in the Liberal Party and was replaced as leader by Willis who took office as Premier on 23 January 1976; see Bennett, pp. 115-119 (see 'Reference', below) and the entries for Lewis and Willis in the 'Governments' section of this website.

Reference: For a comprehensive survey of this election and the preceding period, see Scott Bennett, '1976', in Michael Hogan and David Clune (editors), The People's Choice: Electoral Politics in 20th Century New South Wales, vol. 3 (1968-1999), pp. 111-146, (Sydney: Parliament of New South Wales and University of Sydney, 2001, ISBN 0909907412).


Colin A Hughes, A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics 1975-1984, pp. 189-196, (Rushcutters Bay, NSW: Australian National University Press, 1986, ISBN 008033038X); New South Wales, Parliament, The New South Wales Parliamentary Record: Legislative Council and Legislative Assembly, 1824-1999, vol. VI, pp. 7-15, (Sydney: Parliament of New South Wales, 1999).