ID 0324

Parliament of New South Wales, Legislative Assembly election

Election of 24 February 1968

Show full election details

New South Wales, Legislative Assembly votes and seats won

Display Chart

Election held on 24 February 1968
Criteria for the inclusion of parties in this table are set out in the Glossary under 'listed party'

* to view table drag left or right.
Party Name First preference vote n First preference vote share % Change from previous election % Seats won n Uncontested seats held n Seat share %
Australian Labor Party  931,563  43.10  -0.21  39  41.49 
Liberal Party  831,514  38.47  -1.12  36  38.30 
Country Party  229,656  10.62  +0.39  17  18.09 
Independents  113,552  5.25  +1.13  2.13 
Democratic Labor Party  49,457  2.29  +0.18     
Communist Party  5,828  0.27  -0.37     
Votes for other than listed parties 0 0.00 0.00       
Totals 2,161,570  100.00    94  100.00 

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series | Display Chart


Government in office at election: After the 1965 election, Askin formed a Liberal Party and Country Party coalition minority government which held 47 of the 94 seats in the Legislative Assembly, and relied on two conservative independents to maintain a majority. The government won an additional seat from the Labor Party at the Bathurst by-election held on 6 May 1967 and secured majority support for the coalition until the election in 1968.

Redistribution and postal voting: The was a major redistribution and redrawing of electoral district boundaries before this election, and the reintroduction of postal voting which had been abolished by a Labor government in 1949; for a discussion of the significance of these changes, see Dempsey, pp. 7-10 (see 'Reference', below).

Reference: For a comprehensive survey of this election, see Robert Dempsey, '1968', in Michael Hogan and David Clune (editors), The People's Choice: Electoral Politics in 20th Century New South Wales, vol. 3 (1968-1999), pp. 1-36, (Sydney: Parliament of New South Wales and University of Sydney, 2001, ISBN 0909907412).


Colin A Hughes, A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics 1965-1974, pp. 105-108, (Canberra; Australian National University Press, 1977, ISBN 0708113400); New South Wales, Parliament, The New South Wales Parliamentary Record: Legislative Council and Legislative Assembly, 1824-1999, vol. VI, pp. 7-15, (Sydney: Parliament of New South Wales, 1999).