ID 0300

Parliament of New South Wales, Legislative Assembly election

Election of 27 July 1898

Show full election details

New South Wales, Legislative Assembly votes and seats won

Display Chart

Election held on 27 July 1898
Criteria for the inclusion of parties in this table are set out in the Glossary under 'listed party'

* to view table drag left or right.
Party Name First preference vote n First preference vote share % Change from previous election % Seats won n Uncontested seats held n Seat share %
Protectionist Party  69,404  39.22  +3.25  50  40.00 
Free Trade Party  57,238  32.34  -9.95  45  36.00 
Independent Opposition Party  21,054  11.90  7.20 
Australian Labor Party  20,133  11.38  -1.25  19  15.20 
Independent Ministerialists  4,732  2.67  0.80 
Independents  3,505  1.98  +0.95  0.80 
Independent Labor  913  0.52  -2.83     
Votes for other than listed parties 0 0.00 0.00       
Totals 176,979  100.00    125  100.00 

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series | Display Chart

* Party did not contest previous election or did not meet criteria for listing, or contested previous election under a different party name.


Election: 'Reid led the Free Trade Ministerialists at the election: their candidates were selected by the Liberal Federal Party organization. Barton led the Protectionists whose candidates were selected by the National Federal Party, although Lyne had been Leader of the Opposition', Hughes and Graham, p. 433, (reference in Sources, below).

Protectionist Party and party names: Party names and affiliations were fluid -- see the note above. Hughes and Graham (pp. 433-434, reference in 'Sources', below) assign the votes of Protectionists to the 'Opposition (National Federal)' party while conceding they were primarily Protectionists. For a description and analysis of the style of parliamentary government in this period and the emergence of political parties, see P. Loveday, A W Martin and Patrick Weller, 'New South Wales', in P Loveday, A W Martin and R S Parker, (editors), The Emergence of the Australian Party System, pp. 172-248, (Sydney: Hale and Iremonger, 1977 ISBN 0908094035).


Colin A Hughes and B D Graham, A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics 1890-1964, pp. 423-460, (Canberra: Australian National University Press, 1968, SBN 708102700); New South Wales, Parliament, The New South Wales Parliamentary Record: Legislative Council and Legislative Assembly, 1824-1999, vol. VI, pp. 7-15, (Sydney: Parliament of New South Wales, 1999).