ID 0284

Commonwealth Parliament, House of Representatives election

Election of 13 December 1975

Show full election details

House of Representatives votes and seats won, national summary

Display Chart

Election held on 13 December 1975
Criteria for the inclusion of parties in this table are set out in the Glossary under 'listed party'

* to view table drag left or right.
Party Name First preference vote n First preference vote share % Change from previous election % Seats won n Uncontested seats held n Seat share %
Australian Labor Party  3,313,004  42.84  -6.46  36  28.35 
Liberal Party  3,232,159  41.80  +6.85  68  53.54 
National Country Party  853,943  11.04  22  17.32 
Democratic Labor Party  101,750  1.32  -0.10     
Australia Party  33,630  0.43  -1.89     
Country Liberal Party (NT)  15,976  0.21  0.79 
Votes for other than listed parties 182,116 2.36 +0.32       
Totals 7,732,578  100.00    127  100.00 

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series | Display Chart

* Party did not contest previous election or did not meet criteria for listing, or contested previous election under a different party name.


Government at election: Fraser became prime minister of a Liberal Party-National Country Party coalition minority government on 11 November 1975 after the dismissal of the Whitlam Australian Labor Party majority government by the Governor General.


Colin A Hughes, A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics 1975-1984, Rushcutters Bay, NSW: Australian National University Press, 1986 (ISBN 008033038X); Gerard Newman, Federal Election Results 1949-2001, Canberra: Commonwealth Parliament, Department of the Parliamentary Library, Information and Research Services, Research Paper 9 2001-02, 2002 (ISSN 13287478).

For a general survey of this election, see Howard R Penniman (editor), Australia at the Polls: The National Elections of 1975, Washington, DC: American Enterprise Institute for Public Policy Research, 1977 (ISBN 0844732397).