ID 1625

Commonwealth Parliament, House of Representatives election in Australian Capital Territory

(for more information on this election see national summary for the House of Representatives)

Election of 2 July 2016

Show full election details

House of Representatives votes and seats won in Australian Capital Territory

Display Chart

Election held on 2 July 2016
Criteria for the inclusion of parties in this table are set out in the Glossary under 'listed party'

* to view table drag left or right.
Party Name First preference vote n First preference vote share % Change from previous election % Seats won n Uncontested seats held n Seat share %
Australian Labor Party  111,887  44.27  +1.34  100.00 
Liberal Party  87,346  34.56  -0.06     
Australian Greens  38,129  15.09  +1.69     
Bullet Train for Australia  10,673  4.22  +0.14     
Independents  4,707  1.86     
Votes for other than listed parties 0 0.00 0.00       
Totals 252,742  100.00    100.00 

Previous election in this series | Display Chart

* Party did not contest previous election or did not meet criteria for listing, or contested previous election under a different party name.


Bullet Train for Australia Party: This party had contested the House of Representatives election in the Australian Capital Territory in 2013; it advocated the building of a high speed rail link between Canberra and Sydney.

Independents: Only one candidate contested this House of Representatives election in 2016 as an Independent.


Voting figures were taken from the Australian Electoral Commission website 'First preference votes by party', online: here [accessed 11 June 2017]